I could use some help. Should I upgrade to Liberty 3? I don't know what I am doing

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by flyingsushi, Feb 4, 2012.

  1. flyingsushi

    flyingsushi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    In my Liberty pro toolbox I noticed in my Rom List the option for Liberty 3. Generally speaking, if I have been happy with the original Liberty, will I like Liberty 3 more? I am sort of interested in downloading Liberty 3 but am nervous because I am not sure exactly what I am doing.

    In my toolbox, I moved ahead a few screens just checking this out. I am really ignorant to what I am doing at this point. It appears I have 3 options. Liberty 3 v 2.0, Liberty 3 v 1.0 and Liberty 3 RC 1.1? I assume I am on Gingerbread but don't know for sure?

    Thanks
     
  2. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
  3. flyingsushi

    flyingsushi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dowloaded Liberty 3, then wiped the cache and data. The phone seemed to finish it's loading when it appears the phone was rebooting, a few seconds later the word "Liberty" appears for a few seconds and my screen goes back to a blank black screen. My phone is stuck repeating this process.

    What do I do?
     
  4. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Did you ever check to see what system version you were on? To install liberty 3 you should of been on gingerbread version 4.5.602 or 4.5.605. You may need to sbf now but first you can try to pull your battery and put it back in then press your home button and hold it in then press your power button and hold both buttons in till you see a triangle on the screen. Next press in both volume buttons at the same time and that will get you in stock recovery. Once in recovery use your volume buttons to scroll and power button to select and wipe data and cache partition then select reboot system. Those directions are if you are on gingerbread. If you were on froyo instead of pressing both volume buttons to get in recovery press your search button then use your camera button to select instead of your power button.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  5. flyingsushi

    flyingsushi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't remember what system I was running but I suspect my problem is I am running on froyo because it was this method which got me in recovery. I wipe cache partition and wipe data/factory reset. Next I scrolled up to reboot system.

    Something I noticed toward the bottom, below the little green android guy it says, E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command

    After reboot, the same problem seems to persist. The phone seems to start to turn on, I get the word "LIBERTY" that pops up and disappears. This process just repeats itself over and over.

    Thanks
    What do I do?
     
  6. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    If what i posted above doesn't work just do the 4.5.602 sbf. Then directly after the sbf wipe data and cache partition in stock recovery. Then you'll need to root your phone again and to do that you can use the d3 one click root or zergrush either one will work. In this link you'll find the 1kds bootable 602iso sbf and what you need to root. There's video instructions also http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/g...g/35634-gb-602-root-start-here-links-all.html

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  7. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I just noticed your post above mine so yes you were on froyo so you'll have to sbf and root again. After that you can install Liberty 3 without any problems. You'll be on gingerbread so it's recommend using droid2 bootstrap instead of droidx bootstrap to get in clockwork recovery. Droid 2 bootstrap is just an updated version of DX bootstrap. You can use droidx bootstrap on gingerbread but you'll need to go in your settings > applications > development and make sure usb debugging is unchecked before using it on gingerbread.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  8. flyingsushi

    flyingsushi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I sbf?

    I googled it. The problem is my computer is so old it doesn't recognize my phone. I can't connect my phone to my computer. Do I have to connect to my home computer?
     
    #8 flyingsushi, Feb 6, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  9. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Edited

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
    #9 Savagerun, Feb 6, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  10. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Make sure your phone is in bootloader mode before plugging it into your pc. To get in bootloader mode just pull the battery and put back in then hold the camera button first then hold the volume down button and last hold down the power button. Continue to hold down all 3 buttons till you see a flash on your screen then release your power button followed by your other buttons. Now you should be in bootloader mode. All this is in the video i gave you a link to.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  11. flyingsushi

    flyingsushi Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you for all help Savagerun. The Driver problems have been going on for a long time. I have used that link multiple times and can't seem to fix it. When I am less frustrated I may create a new thread in a different area to see if I can fix the motorola driver issue.

    Because of several factors, I switched phones. My father gave me his Droid X he is no longer using. I gave it a factory reset to start all over and I am now up and running. Only thing is I am unrooted and obviously not using a custom rom.

    Do you have a link to a thread which can easily walk me through how to root again. I can't remember how I did it the first time. I am undecided on what I will do from there. I am not sure if I will install a custom rom or not. I really liked Liberty and might consider it.

    The new Droid X I just got I want to double check on a few things.

    The Android version is 2.3.3. Is that Gingerbread?

    System Version is 4.5.605.mb810 verizon.en.us. What is this? I don't know what it means?

    Thanks again for your time.
    Sushi


    Edit:... I was looking at this thread for instructions on how to root. http://www.droidxforums.com/forum/droid-x-rs-approved-guides/41454-guide-how-root-your-phone-zergrush.html

    C
    an I root without the need of a PC. I didn't need one last time. I am confused why the process seems more complicated.
     
    #11 flyingsushi, Feb 6, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  12. Savagerun

    Savagerun Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2011
    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Your on the latest version of gingerbread. You can use zergrush to root your phone now. You rooted your phone without a pc last time because you were on froyo and to root froyo all you needed was the Z4root app. But with gingerbread you need a pc.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums