How to take a screen shot?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by powerkatwedel, May 18, 2010.

  1. powerkatwedel

    powerkatwedel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm sure this has been covered, but I have searched an couldn't find it. How do I take a screen shot on my Droid?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,739
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    I use DroCap2 but it only works on rooted phones. I recall reading a thread that allowed members with non rooted phones to share screen shots so it must be possible but I do not know what app you need. Here is a linkhttp://www.androidzoom.com/android_applications/screen+capture/by_matching that has several screen capture apps. Perhaps one will meet your need.

    Mike
     
  3. ocholoco

    ocholoco Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +0
    i think home ++ will take screenshots of non rooted droids
     
  4. powerkatwedel

    powerkatwedel Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the help.
     
  5. Diordna

    Diordna Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Cape Coral - FLORIDA
    Ratings:
    +0
    DrpCap2 is useful. Just root! :)
     
  6. Vitticeps

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think any app on the phone will take screen caps without root. I think the only way to do it on non rooted phones is by using the Dalvik Debug Monitor in the Android SDK.

    I'll try to find a link to instructions if you want to try it.
     
  7. J*Bishop

    J*Bishop Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    there is an app on the market place called "ShootMe"
     
  8. Vitticeps

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No app will work on non rooted phones.
     
  9. czerdrill

    czerdrill Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +12
    home++ takes screenshots on non-rooted phones.
     
  10. Vitticeps

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    But it only lets you take screenshots of your home screen, doesn't work on other apps, lock screen, menus, etc.
     
  11. CoolBreeze

    CoolBreeze Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Vitticeps

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the link coolbreeze, that's the method I use. Only thing this method doesn't seem to be able to capture is live camera views, they just show black. But I don't think there is a currently existing way to do that nor do I know why you'd really want to. :)
     
  13. yamaredman

    yamaredman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    MD, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    ... still waiting on a simple app from the market that will take screen shots with an un-rooted Droid.

    Should I grab a Snickers?
     
  14. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think that this is my second gripe about a simple thing that Droid should either do or have an app for. Come on devs.
     
  15. Vitticeps

    Vitticeps Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From what I've read over at XDA-Developers, it can't be done without root. Something about the need to read from a file in /dev/graphics that can't be accessed without root.

    If it were possible, I'm sure there'd already be 100 different apps out there. It's not a problem with the Droid, it's Android from it's first iteration up to 2.1.
     
Search tags for this page

droid bionic screen shot

,
droid bionic screen shots
,
droid bionic take screenshot
,
how to do screenshot on droid bionic
,
how to screen shot on droid bionic
,
how to take a screen shot on droid bionic
,
how to take screen shot on droid bionic
,
how to take screenshot on droid bionic
,
screen shot droid bionic
,
take a screenshot on droid bionic