How to root Droid 2 after Gingerbread OTA

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by markml0528, Sep 30, 2011.

  1. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I know there's already like 5 threads saying the same thing, but I thought I might as well throw mine in since all of those threads don't have any solutions.

    I've tried this method : http://www.droid-life.com/2011/09/01/how-to-root-the-droid2-droidx2-droidx-and-droid3-running-gingerbread/

    I
    tried that on my Droid 2 and it says successful rooted but when I try to use a root app it says I don't have superuser access. This method worked fine on my Droid 3.
  2. Droid-Xer
    Offline

    Droid-Xer DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,414
    Likes Received:
    55
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Do you have the Super User and busybox apps?
  3. markml0528
    Offline

    markml0528 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    897
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    United States
    I have superuser. No busybox. I uninstalled superuser though and tried the root from psouza again and it still didn't work.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  4. jas2
    Offline

    jas2 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try su update fixer in the market.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  5. Vortec6
    Offline

    Vortec6 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    the `boro
    So, did that fix the problem? My D2 was unrooted by the gb update like everyone else, im just trying to figure out the best way to get root again!
  6. Stevetx1989
    Offline

    Stevetx1989 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried the same way on my d2 but I can't do it because the 32 bit drivers do not work. 64 does but my machine is a 32.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  7. lizard
    Offline

    lizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I had to use my friends 64 bit PC and for some reason only v6 of Petes would work , not v7 .

    Sent from my rooted, and CM7 rommed, Droid2
  8. nhra1ss
    Offline

    nhra1ss Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    205
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ohio
    I just rooted my D2 Sunday with this link. Everything went smoothly and no problem. I used my laptop which is running Vista 64.
Search tags for this page

root droid 2 gingerbread ota

,
rooting