How to root a ICS Bionic?

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by xxnonamexx, Sep 19, 2012.

  1. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How can I root my ICS Bionic? The one click method doesn't work. Thanks
  2. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
  3. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how do I use it? I ran run.bat but I get errors i have latest drivers and USB debug. Thanks
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2012
  4. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    put the phone in mtp mode when plugged in
  5. xxnonamexx
    Offline

    xxnonamexx New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    615
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    done didn't work
  6. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    What errors does it give you?
  7. masiv
    Offline

    masiv New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SouthEast Michigan
    This method worked perfectly for me. Thanks
  8. bleys
    Offline

    bleys New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same here as well. Also, I think I had mine plugged in in file explorer mode (or whatever it's called) and it worked. At least, I never selected anything and it worked like a charm on two different Bionics I had.

    Thanks for the info!
  9. 20007.3stroker
    Offline

    20007.3stroker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hazel Green, WI
    I'm having issues to trying to root. It'll start and then stall before it even gets to rebooting. I'm getting frustrated, back when i did my Droid 1 i never had any issues. Been trying different possible fixes I've found, but still can't get it done. Made double sure I've got the latest drive from moto on my computer to.
  10. bleys
    Offline

    bleys New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    When you go to System Settings>About Phone>Android Version


    What do you see?
  11. lloydstrans
    Offline

    lloydstrans Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    9,757
    Likes Received:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Gee spam again
  12. 20007.3stroker
    Offline

    20007.3stroker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hazel Green, WI
    4.0.4
  13. bleys
    Offline

    bleys New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's the version I used when I ran the script.

    You may need to run the script in an administrative prompt. You also need to make sure that USB debugging is on, that your PC is actually seeing the phone and it could even depend on what version of windows your running. I didn't even need to open a command prompt.
  14. 20007.3stroker
    Offline

    20007.3stroker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hazel Green, WI
    I know it's recognizing the phone. Both computers we have are windows 7. It would freeze at "daemon started successfully". I read a couple different walk thru's to make sure i want missing something to.
  15. Uglymouse
    Offline

    Uglymouse New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Georgia
  16. 20007.3stroker
    Offline

    20007.3stroker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hazel Green, WI
    Well a little looking around the net and device manager isn't recognizing it. When i plug it in to the computer it shows the phone as available drives though. I also did try go back one version of the drivers.
  17. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THANKS UGLYMOUSE...YOU ARE A LIFESAVER, BUDDY OLD PAL! Follow his instructions, its very simple and I promise rooting your ICS Bionic will work. Uninstall the all the drivers for Motorola phone (Backup Assistance Plus) and reinstall the drivers uglymouse has placed under his post and use razrs_edge_windows apk again and voila! Root!!!
  18. CaliEskimo
    Offline

    CaliEskimo New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have to hand it to Verizon though, they know how to keep us DROID users down but with a little patience, elbow grease and dedication anything is possible! Now if somebody could tell me where to get the tools to unlock my Bionic to another service provider i would be in heaven!
  19. 20007.3stroker
    Offline

    20007.3stroker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hazel Green, WI
    Well guys i still can't get mine rooted. The only time i can get adb interface running is of i put the phone in ap fastboot. Otherwise it won't come up. I've watched the video on rooting and other than that everything starts a it should.
  20. 20007.3stroker
    Offline

    20007.3stroker New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hazel Green, WI
    Got it rooted!!! Had to do a factory reset, which i wasn't looking forward to. But if fixed the issues, and I'm now rooted. Thanks for the help. I also he me reporting back can help someone else.
Search tags for this page
bionic root ics
,
droid bionic one click root
,

droid bionic root

,
droid bionic root ics
,
droid bionic rooting
,
how to root a droid bionic
,
how to root bionic
,
how to root bionic ics
,

how to root droid bionic

,
how to root droid bionic ics
,
root bionic
,

root droid bionic

,

root droid bionic ics

,
rooting a droid bionic
,
rooting droid bionic