[HACKS] How To Install ForeverRoot/Cheesecake and Rom From Start to Finish

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by pollardhimself, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. pollardhimself
    Offline

    pollardhimself New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. Start with Stock Rom

    2.Root your bionic
    (Pete's one-click method, manually, or whatever)
    (You need to be rooted before you can do the Forever Root script modification).

    3. Forever Root
    Video How To


    2, 3 Combo
    Allows you to root and forever root with one script
    http://rootzwiki.com/topic/5484-r3l3as3droot-and-43v3r-root-for-the-bionic-v21/

    Run R3L3AS3DRoot.bat
    Capture.PNG

    4. Install CheeseCake
    *Phone must have all stock apps and no modifications, other than root (& forever root) for this to work!


    Download the 893 update file: http://goo.gl/vQiJZ

    Old Version
    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________
    Video How To




    5. Install BootStrap Recovery
    From Market! https://market.android.com/details?...vbS5rb3VzaGlrZHV0dGEuYmlvbmljLmJvb3RzdHJhcCJd


    6. Restart in recovery
    Choose bootstrap Recovery
    Then Reboot Recovery

    7. Install ROM

    Video How To "you can use the same method for Liberty"


    Wipe Data/Factory Reset
    Format System
    Wipe Dalvik
    Install From Zip "Choose Your Rom Of your Choice"




    Fix if you mess up



    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________

    If you screw up go back and use this to get back to stock with Super User on Cheesecake

    New Version

    http://rootzwiki.com/topic/5484-r3l3as3droot-and-43v3r-root-for-the-bionic-v2/


    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________
    Old Version

    Stock with Forever Root Already installed
    [ROOT] R3L3AS3D W/FOR3V3R ROOT V1.0 LINUX/WINDOWS (Get ROOT after 893 OTA OOPS) - RootzWiki
    Update " This Adds a wait command so it completes successfully"
    http://th3oryrom.com/COMPILED/R3L3AS3DRootV1.1_Windows_Script_only.zip
    Drop it in the R3l3AS3DRoot Folder 'Updates the .bat file'
    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________

    Boot in Fastboot (Hold Volume Down and push power Button)
    Run One-Click Fastboot Restore and Root for BIONIC.bat
    Plug In Bionic Following Instructions
    " Set Phone in usb Debugging and Charge only Mode before installing root"
    1 person likes this.
  2. jlong006
    Offline

    jlong006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Quick question not sure if this is the place to ask but I am currently running liberty rom, if I back that up and restore stock from after root. Download cheesecake and update to. 893 will I be able to restore my liberty rom or do I have to do a fresh install.
  3. pollardhimself
    Offline

    pollardhimself New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it will work, but don't quote me on that. Give it a try
  4. jlong006
    Offline

    jlong006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I did everything and lost root got that back and flashed my restore of liberty needless to say all is good after 4 hours.
  5. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    awesome videos, gonna have to do this shortly.... that's one thing I hate about the "cutting edge" always gotta do something else that wipes my phone :p at least I've finally figured out how to actually restore what I want without messing EVERYTHING up. :D
  6. pollardhimself
    Offline

    pollardhimself New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah It took me awhile to find out how to get root back after I screwed up. I had to search for awhile till I found the get root after .893 OTA oops
  7. phillieboy
    Offline

    phillieboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    update failure

    Everything went as shown until it tried to apply the update and it failed.

    I hate being new to this.

    What could some issues be?

    I did already have the phone rooted, then did the forever root method in the video continuing with everything else shown.
  8. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,154
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    now I'm stuck on the M.... wtf I did EXACTLY what the first video showed exactly how it showed. and nothing. and now I have a broken phone... and not enough time to fix it.
  9. prime
    Online

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,833
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Florida
    Forever root is really a waste of time as it will be patched. It's a sane method, well thought out even...just not forever.
  10. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had the same issue...I'm retrying as I type this. I hope it works!!! I did notice that when it comes to setting up a moto account I don't get the option to accept the license agreement? could that be it?
  11. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update failed a second time! What is causing it to fail after the download? Did moto prevent something? Did I do something wrong? I followed the videos & triple checked my work.
  12. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My next question would be if Cheesecake changed any of my files how can I get them back to stock?
  13. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I just did the update to 5.6.893. The only thing I know (well, it's stated in almost every thread on every forum that addresses this update) is the phone must have all stock apps and no modifications, other than root (& forever root). If you have any bloatware frozen or deleted, it will fail. If you have modded the notification bar, it will fail.

    Good luck.
  14. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks...I just remembered I used root explorer to turn some bloat to .bak files...I wonder if the wireless teathering hack (the one where you change in the database) will cause an issue?
  15. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks BayouFlyFisher!!! ‚ÄčThat did the trick! The update was successful!!!
  16. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Not sure. What I've read is the "all signatures" will be verified. I assumed that meant that all the bloatware and system files will be verified as valid. I don't really know about your tethering app, but I would sure get rid of it before trying. YMMV!!
  17. BayouFlyFisher
    Offline

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,966
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Great!! Be sure to make a virgin 5.6.893 backup. I did that after I verified I had root and clockwork in place.

    Good luck.
  18. pollardhimself
    Offline

    pollardhimself New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  19. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for this! I saved it & bookmarked the instructions! I noticed the camera is focusing faster with the update...I had to reinstall getjar since it didn't recognize my phone at first. Blockbuster had an update in the market & I had to activate my account (I have blockbuster on my bluray DVD too) but it works. Netflix works, all the usual apps (youtube, handsent, Google Earth, Maps, etc...all work great and FAST!!!
  20. mikespe
    Offline

    mikespe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just noticed that my update says 5.6.893 and NOT 5.5.893! PLUS I just went back to system updates & now I am getting an update called 5.7.893!!! Do you think Moto is updating the update? Am I screwed here?
Search tags for this page
android cheesecake root
,
cheesecake method root
,

in order to complete setup you need a data connection