[HACKS] How To Install ForeverRoot/Cheesecake and Rom From Start to Finish

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Roms' started by pollardhimself, Oct 28, 2011.

  1. pollardhimself

    pollardhimself Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    1. Start with Stock Rom

    2.Root your bionic
    (Pete's one-click method, manually, or whatever)
    (You need to be rooted before you can do the Forever Root script modification).

    3. Forever Root
    Video How To

    2, 3 Combo
    Allows you to root and forever root with one script
    http://rootzwiki.com/topic/5484-r3l3as3droot-and-43v3r-root-for-the-bionic-v21/

    Run R3L3AS3DRoot.bat
    Capture.PNG

    4. Install CheeseCake
    *Phone must have all stock apps and no modifications, other than root (& forever root) for this to work!

    Download the 893 update file: http://goo.gl/vQiJZ

    Old Version
    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________
    Video How To



    5. Install BootStrap Recovery
    From Market! https://market.android.com/details?...vbS5rb3VzaGlrZHV0dGEuYmlvbmljLmJvb3RzdHJhcCJd


    6. Restart in recovery
    Choose bootstrap Recovery
    Then Reboot Recovery

    7. Install ROM

    Video How To "you can use the same method for Liberty"

    Wipe Data/Factory Reset
    Format System
    Wipe Dalvik
    Install From Zip "Choose Your Rom Of your Choice"




    Fix if you mess up


    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________

    If you screw up go back and use this to get back to stock with Super User on Cheesecake

    New Version

    http://rootzwiki.com/topic/5484-r3l3as3droot-and-43v3r-root-for-the-bionic-v2/


    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________
    Old Version

    Stock with Forever Root Already installed
    [ROOT] R3L3AS3D W/FOR3V3R ROOT V1.0 LINUX/WINDOWS (Get ROOT after 893 OTA OOPS) - RootzWiki
    Update " This Adds a wait command so it completes successfully"
    http://th3oryrom.com/COMPILED/R3L3AS3DRootV1.1_Windows_Script_only.zip
    Drop it in the R3l3AS3DRoot Folder 'Updates the .bat file'
    __________________________________________________ ______________________________________

    Boot in Fastboot (Hold Volume Down and push power Button)
    Run One-Click Fastboot Restore and Root for BIONIC.bat
    Plug In Bionic Following Instructions
    " Set Phone in usb Debugging and Charge only Mode before installing root"
     
    • Like Like x 1
  2. jlong006

    jlong006 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question not sure if this is the place to ask but I am currently running liberty rom, if I back that up and restore stock from after root. Download cheesecake and update to. 893 will I be able to restore my liberty rom or do I have to do a fresh install.
     
  3. pollardhimself

    pollardhimself Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I think it will work, but don't quote me on that. Give it a try
     
  4. jlong006

    jlong006 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I did everything and lost root got that back and flashed my restore of liberty needless to say all is good after 4 hours.
     
  5. liftedplane

    liftedplane Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    340
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +432
    awesome videos, gonna have to do this shortly.... that's one thing I hate about the "cutting edge" always gotta do something else that wipes my phone :p at least I've finally figured out how to actually restore what I want without messing EVERYTHING up. :D
     
  6. pollardhimself

    pollardhimself Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah It took me awhile to find out how to get root back after I screwed up. I had to search for awhile till I found the get root after .893 OTA oops
     
  7. phillieboy

    phillieboy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    update failure

    Everything went as shown until it tried to apply the update and it failed.

    I hate being new to this.

    What could some issues be?

    I did already have the phone rooted, then did the forever root method in the video continuing with everything else shown.
     
  8. liftedplane

    liftedplane Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,645
    Likes Received:
    340
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +432
    now I'm stuck on the M.... wtf I did EXACTLY what the first video showed exactly how it showed. and nothing. and now I have a broken phone... and not enough time to fix it.
     
  9. prime

    prime Kernel Developer Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +52
    Forever root is really a waste of time as it will be patched. It's a sane method, well thought out even...just not forever.
     
  10. mikespe

    mikespe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    I had the same issue...I'm retrying as I type this. I hope it works!!! I did notice that when it comes to setting up a moto account I don't get the option to accept the license agreement? could that be it?
     
  11. mikespe

    mikespe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Update failed a second time! What is causing it to fail after the download? Did moto prevent something? Did I do something wrong? I followed the videos & triple checked my work.
     
  12. mikespe

    mikespe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    My next question would be if Cheesecake changed any of my files how can I get them back to stock?
     
Search tags for this page
android cheesecake root
,
cheesecake method root
,

in order to complete setup you need a data connection