How to guide: Disable double notifications when using handcent sms

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by medicTHREE, Dec 11, 2009.

  1. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seems as though there are 4 or 5 of these threads popping up every day. The annoyance of having double notifications for received SMS seems to be the biggest "complaint" about Handcent SMS. Here is a simple guide to make your life easier.

    1. Open the "messaging" from the app drawer
    2. Push the "menu" button(the 2nd button from left on the bottom of your Droid
    3. Click SETTINGS
    4. Scroll down and UNCHECK "Notifications"
    5. To futher disable the mssaging app you can UNCHECK " Auto-Retrieve"(this prevents the "Messaging" App from even downloading messages.
    6. Exit the app. Rejoice. Live long and Prosper. Yay!
     
  2. jimmerz

    jimmerz Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well that is great to know! I actually uninstalled it because of that. Also, Handcent seems to not allow me to send as large of a file as the installed messaging, is there a fix for that too?

    Thanks!
     
  3. jaysonstaurt

    jaysonstaurt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol :motdroidhoriz:
     
  4. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the inciteful response... This seems to actually be one of the most common problems with the droid and Handcent.
     
  5. slider7420

    slider7420 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks!

    That was making me crazy, now that I have the default app disabled, how do I change the sound for Handscent to what I was using for text message notifications?
     
  6. LastBoyScout

    LastBoyScout Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    At My House
    Ratings:
    +0
    of that im not sure. handcent uses the default notification sound that I selected....
     
  7. KiotaKahn

    KiotaKahn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I followed your instructions to the letter, even disabled the default messaging app from even retrieving the messages, and am still getting double notifications. The "Droid" sound that I have set as my default notification sound, and the R2-D2 sound that is set in Handcent. Any other suggestions? It's something that I have learned to live with, but would love to be able to correct.
     
  8. Martin030908

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go into Handcent > Settings > Notification Setting > Select ringtone
     
  9. Allstizzle

    Allstizzle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you so much!
     
  10. freakintoddles

    freakintoddles Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks for posting this OP... it really would be unnecessary if people took a few minutes to look in all their settings and figure things out for themselves... but oh well
     
  11. Vulcan1600

    Vulcan1600 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    5,717
    Likes Received:
    168
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +169
    Now if someone could do a step by step instruction how to stop Google Voice from sending 2 messages out. Sure hope that gets resolved soon.
     
  12. medicTHREE

    medicTHREE Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for missing this... What do you mean sending 2 messages... Mine doesn't do this.
     
  13. rwfishbu

    rwfishbu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Washington State
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the disable solution. Worked perfectly!
    :greendroid:
     
  14. nitin24

    nitin24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I joined the forum to find this solution...thanks!!
     
  15. mikecolorama

    mikecolorama Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    459
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Valinda, CA
    Ratings:
    +0
    i did this awhile back and i still get double notifications
     
Search tags for this page
disable handcent
,

handcent double notification

,
handcent receive messages twice
,
handcent sms double messages
,

handcent sms double notification

,
handcent sms duplicate messages
,
handcent sms two notifications
,
handcent two notifications
,
how do i disable handcent
,
how to disable handcent sms