How to extend your battery a ton if you use Wi-Fi

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by SSHGuru, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I just found this out - and I'm amazed at the stupidity of Google for having this setting so hidden no one would find it.

    I use Wi-Fi 90% of the time - at home and at work. Generally using Wi-Fi takes a ton less battery than using 3g since you don't have to have the radio connection for data usage.

    But did you know that the base setting for Droids have Wi-Fi turn off once your screen goes off?

    You heard me right - when the screen goes off so does your wi-fi connection. It turns back on when you turn the screen on. This means when the screen is off you are using far more energy using 3g.

    I changed the setting today and my phone is still 80% after 7 hours. Unheard of.

    Want to know how?

    Settings
    Wireless & Networks
    Wi-Fi Settings
    THEN press the four line button on the bottom of your phone. (the one next to your home button)
    Click Advanced.
    Click Wi-Fi Sleep Policy
    Change it to NEVER.

    Yeah, who would think.
  2. Dwyndal
    Offline

    Dwyndal Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice i forgot about that feature setting, i alwaysed use APNoid or some other app i forget what to keep mine one, i'm generally always on wifi no so this will come in handy. Cheers:icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:
  3. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I can't believe it's so hidden. And so important.
  4. kptphalkon
    Offline

    kptphalkon Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +6
    wow I never even gave it thought lol! thank you for this great tip
  5. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Actually, 3G uses less power when idle. An exception might be if you're in a poor signal area or have background apps that constantly use data when idle. But this is documented and proven, and the reason for the default setting.
  6. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    People who use Wi-Fi most of the time have crappy 3g signals.

    I can barely make a call from my home. So this little hidden setting has completely changed my phone.

    Still at 80% after 8 hours. Double what I normally get.

  7. Dwyndal
    Offline

    Dwyndal Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's what I kept hearing but and i don't really use background syncs other than emails 15 and 30 minutes depending on which account but what about Gtalk - how does that run with wifi and or 3g?
  8. Dwyndal
    Offline

    Dwyndal Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    HAH i can barely make a call at my house and i have no interwebs for wifi - my house is ruuuuuuuuural while my work is ubran le sigh.
  9. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    I have about 8 email accounts pulling anywhere from a minute to 30 minutes. I also have calender sync running and Beautiful Widgets... it pulls a decent amount of data.

    To think for the last two years the battery has been dying because it turns off wi-fi when the screen goes off really pisses me off. They should have that option clear rather than buried.
  10. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yeah. With your setup and poor signal I can absolutely see it making a marked difference. Heavy 3G use in a weak signal area is definitely a battery killer. Sorry it took so long to find that setting.
  11. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    At least I found it... I'm now more inclined to stay with Android. My wife's new IPhone kicks it's ass in battery and isn't as horrible as I thought it would be...

    I would still prefer the Bionic...

  12. kookk
    Offline

    kookk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2011
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That explains why a lot of my Widgets weren't updating. I have not reception at all at my house and rely on wifi

    Sent from my DROID X2
  13. SSHGuru
    Offline

    SSHGuru Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,839
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Fort Lauderdale
    Ratings:
    +30
    That does explain it for me too - same thing was happening. Google needs to make this an option people can see.

  14. Detonation
    Offline

    Detonation Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    934
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +6
    If you have root, you can also edit your build.props file and change wifi.supplicant_scan_interval to something higher. Its the time (in seconds, the default is 45 I think) between scans for Wifi access points you have remembered but aren't in range. Useful for when you are on the go and moving between networks.
  15. gsDroid
    Offline

    gsDroid Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +3
    I just turn off data when I am at home with my strong wifi connection. I let the wifi turn off because I don't auto sync, but since data is turned off, I get the benefit of them both being off during screen off. My battery life is superb.
Search tags for this page

droid x2 wifi sleep saving battery