Didja Know? WiFi Sleeping

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by 640k, Feb 1, 2010.

  1. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did you know there's a setting that will prevent WiFi from sleeping? When WiFi goes to sleep, it can cause data disconnects which may result in "unexpected bahvior" with apps that stream music or connect to chat clients.

    home - menu - settings - wireless & networks - wi-fi settings - menu - advanced - wi-fi sleep policy:

    you'll have the option to:
    (Sleep) when screen turns off (default)
    Never (sleep) when plugged in
    Never (sleep)
  2. raven1911
    Offline

    raven1911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definitely didn't know this. Reset my phone to "Never". No wonder I was having wifi issues.
  3. J*Bishop
    Offline

    J*Bishop Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    ditto!! thanks for the info 640k!
  4. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    DISCLAIMER: I wonder what it does to battery life???
  5. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +800
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Any info on the power drain when it's set to never if you use it a lot? I just set mine to never while plugged in, but don't wanna set it completely to never, as I keep WiFi on at home most of the time...

    What's funny is, I'm pretty sure I looked in here, because I always browse through all settings options when I get a new phone, but I don't know that I clicked on sleep policy.

    Thanks!
  6. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +800
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    You jerk...Beat me to it. Maybe I'll try it over my 4-day weekend coming up and report my findings...
  7. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    my guess would be that the phone would continually be scanning for wifi spots ALL of the time, which is a HUGE battery drain. i'd say, be prepared for wifi to jump above display in the usage graph.
  8. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +800
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Scanning, yes, but what if you're connected to a network? It doesn't keep scanning for new ones does it? That would be plain mad...Seems to me like it'd take a bit of extra power for the radio to be running, but as long as you're not sending/receiving copious amounts of data, you think it will be that drastic if connected for the whole time...?

    [I really am going to do an experiment with this...]
  9. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,544
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've always had my setting on this for WiFi and it doesn't seem to affect the battery. And I'm home all day so I'm usually on WiFi.

    640K, got a question for you. Is there any advantage to using IP settings (Use Static IP)?
  10. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    not sure, but a wifi device on a PC/laptop would still give you updates of connections if your area, so i can only assume that it would still continue to scan.
  11. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    advantage: you can open ports, whatever, for your IP in your router, setup a VPN, do network management, etc., etc.

    disadvantage: most routers are dhcp. anywhere you go, you'll have to turn that off to connect to "foreign"/public networks.
  12. hypatia
    Offline

    hypatia New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use this together with the "Y5" app to turn off wifi when I'm not near a known access point. "Near" is defined by GPS and/or Cell tower.
  13. jimnutt
    Offline

    jimnutt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morrisville, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can have the best of both worlds with the right router setup at home. Most routers can be configured to assign a particular IP address to a given MAC address (the MAC address is the unique ID every ethernet|wifi card has). For instance, my router gives my phone the IP address 192.168.1.7 and the host name "droid" every time I connect to it with the phone. That way you can leave the phone using DHCP, which is better if you use random hotspots and still get a fixed ip address.
  14. 640k
    Offline

    640k Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    2,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Ratings:
    +0
    but not all routers. i've run across a few that don't allow it. sucks when you're used to it...
  15. Jonny Kansas
    Online

    Jonny Kansas DF Super Moderator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,745
    Likes Received:
    752
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +800
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Testing battery with wifi always on vs only always on while plugged in.

    Ok. Had my phone unplugged for around 12 hours with my wifi sleep policy set to Never while plugged in. For 6 of those hours, I was awake browsing Droid forums occasionally, checking email, searching the market, downloading an app or two.

    For the other six, I was asleep, so my phone sat idle.

    Now, I've set the wifi sleep policy to never and plugged my phone back in for a little while to reset the battery usage %s.

    I'll do my best to use the phone about the same way I did before.

    Battery usage of wifi, toggle on, but allowed to sleep when the screen was off was listed at 14% after those 12 hours.

    I have a feeling the biggest change will be in the idle time. Any other predictions?
Search tags for this page

droid dna wifi sleep

,

prevent wifi sleep android

,

sleeping with didja

,

what wifi frequency does the droid dna talk on?

,

wifi sleeping