How is BetterCut?

Discussion in 'Android Applications Discussions' started by tu3218, Apr 15, 2010.

  1. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    For those who have this, is it worth it? Do the icon themes offer a good change and just overall would you recomend this. I just got a new theme(flavor ice) and some new icons would be nice.
     
  2. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, I love it
    here is a screenshot
    [​IMG]
    I have changed it up quite a bit since then but you get the idea
     
  3. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    oh yeah that looks good. Now does bettercut actually offer themes or is that just the application that allows the use of the other themes that show up in the marketplace when I search bettercut. Also, is it easy to change the icons?
     
  4. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    they don't do themes from what I can tell. its pretty simple to get icons, just search icons in the market and you will get tons of hits
     
  5. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm confused. I downloaded bettercut an a theme. Now what do I do to apply the icons?
     
  6. The Rick

    The Rick Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    longpress on space on screen
    select shortcut
    bettercut
    activity
    pick an icon on your home screen (you might need to clear some space to get it to work properly, it doesn't pick ones out of your app drawer)
    change icon
    pick from either a picture or icon pack you download
    change name if desired
    hit save
    you now have a shiney new icon :icon_ banana:
     
  7. papy72

    papy72 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    346
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've seen so many good things said about Bettercut but I just couldn't make it work. Don't quote me on this but I think it doens't work (well) with all the various home replacement apps. At least that was my experience with GDE. YMMV.

    If you want to look at other options check out Folder Organizer. I have the full version of this and it works very well.
     
  8. drummerq

    drummerq Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    my question is weather or not there is any lag while opening an app.

    like when i click on contacts it opens write up. Well with bettercut and the shortcut will this simple task take longer. And is so how much.
     
  9. knightfall

    knightfall New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone my first time posting, I have a question I'm using bettercut to create icons but having a problem finding the short cut for vibrate mode. Beautiful widget has that mode but I cant find it any where, if someone can point me in the right direction I would appreciate it very much. Thank you.
     
  10. Garemlin

    Garemlin Developer Relations

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,421
    Likes Received:
    315
    Trophy Points:
    148
    Location:
    Delaware
    Ratings:
    +334
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3 (VZW), Nexus 7 v2
    One of the few apps I have paid for. And worth it. I am not rooted so without Bettercut my screens would be a little boring. With Bettercut and Helix I have my screens pretty much the way I want. I have just recently started making my own icons as well.
     
  11. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    very cool. any recommendations for icon packs I should download? Is it hard to make your own icons btw.
     
  12. RedBull

    RedBull Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure about how hard it is to make them...or if it's a PITA, but here is a link to a thread of a bunch of custom icons. The guy who made them won't be doing anymore updates, but it's a great start and covers a lot. http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-themes/28538-customized-ibox-icons-matth3w.html
     
  13. tu3218

    tu3218 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Baltimore, Maryland
    Ratings:
    +0
    After changing the icon, can I go back to the original icon?
     
  14. al808

    al808 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Same here, I was wondering if there is a way to go back to the original icon? Thanks in advance
     
  15. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,242
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,076
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    first off yes you can go back to your original icon. you just drag the icon into the trash and then put it back on homescreen. It shows up as stock icon again.

    @papy the problem you are experiencing is because you have to put the icons you want to show up on your home replacement scfreen on the native homescreen.

    In other words go back to your stock screen and for demo purposes only lets say you only want 2 icons.

    place those 2 icons on the homescreen then choose your homereplacement as default homescreen. Go into Bettercut and change those 2 icons. Your done : )

    Those 2 icons will now be changed. If you dont place them on your default home you wont be able to change them on your homereplacement screen.

    I hope that helps.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk