How can I use this overseas?

Discussion in 'Samsung Galaxy Nexus' started by Kurupt, Mar 21, 2012.

  1. Kurupt

    Kurupt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sooo I am going to Israel in a couple weeks and want to use a crutch I call my phone. Not a crutch really, but lately when I travel, having internet and GPS on my phone has made a world of difference. I went to Panama a couple years back with my Blackberry Storm and before Verizon starting raping people on international data. Basically I know I can't use minutes (unless I want to pay $2 a second). I have groove IP for calling on VOIP if need to. I would love to be able to use data and/ or gps if I could. Any clue on what I can do? Thanks!!

    Randy
     
  2. Droid-Xer

    Droid-Xer Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    El Paso, TX
    Ratings:
    +57
    I believe VZW offers decently priced international data packages. Otherwise the cdma gnex can't be used overseas, only the GSM variant.
     
  3. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    I believe that Israel is one of the few countries where CDMA is widely used. According to Verizon's global section of their website, voice and data should work in Israel via international roaming. You won't be able to use LTE, just 3G. But you're going to pay an outrageous amount for data according to their Global Data page. So, unless you want to pay Verizon's fees for global roaming, you won't be able to use any type of cellular connection on the Galaxy Nexus while in Israel. There's really no other option for a CDMA phone, particularly if you're just traveling. If you have offline maps stored on your phone, GPS will work just fine without any type of cellular connection. I used GPS all the time while I was in Albania while keeping the phone in airplane mode.
     
  4. KeepItReal

    KeepItReal Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2010
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    You can put the phone in airplane mode and then turn on wifi and use a local wifi in your hotel or in a cafe/McDonald's (lol). You could use email and the browser to communicate. You can sent text messages via email for quick communicating using the formats here for different carriors:

    http://20somethingfinance.com/how-to-send-text-messages-sms-via-email-for-free/

    To view requirements and cost for using the phone during International travel use the following website:

    http://businessportals.verizonwireless.com/international/traveling_to/index.html

    Using the phones 3g/4g Data will be cost prohibited but there are plans for that on the above Verizonwirewireless website. Happy traveling. I have a saying that I use: I have been to Ohio...... lol

    Sent from my Xoom using DroidForums
     
  5. sbenson

    sbenson Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,370
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Virginia/DC Metro Area
    Ratings:
    +61
    If you need to make calls, use Tango. The person on the other end will have to have Tango as well.

    Once installed, turn airplane mode on, then turn wifi on and make sure you're connected, then make your call via Tango, completely free.
     
  6. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    shoot i couldnt even get data in puerto rico. i was royally pissed... then i got drunk for 5 days
     
  7. sfierro

    sfierro Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  8. alboboy10

    alboboy10 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Hmmm I'm going to Albania this summer (cause I'm from there) and was going to open a topic for questions myself. How did you store it offline?

    You're not Albanian are you
     
  9. Kurupt

    Kurupt Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2011
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah I too would love to know how to get maps off line. This was a problem for me when I was in PR also
     
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,121
    Likes Received:
    681
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +754
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    There are different map and GPS apps that allow you to store offline maps. Some have options to download through the app, others let you use maps that you find online. Some are free, others make you pay for things. At the moment, I can't recall exactly which apps I was using for everything. I started switching around to different custom ROMs after I returned, wiping everything as I went. I'll try to look around and find out what I used. They weren't incredibly detailed, but they were good enough to walk around town with and get to where I was going.

    No, I'm not Albanian. I was over there doing some work for my PhD program with a university in Tirana.
     
Search tags for this page

can i use droid razr overseas

,
can i use tango overseas
,
can use tango overseas
,

can you use tango overseas

,
does tango work overseas
,
galaxy nexus in israel
,
tango overseas
,

using droid bionic overseas

,
using droid razr abroad
,
verizon galaxy nexus abroad