home screen won't go into lanscape.

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Sam, Nov 10, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    Auto orientation is on, just did a hard reset too.. what gives? It works in apps, but not on home screen..
  2. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    Bump. Anybody know what I can do?
  3. Danthok
    Offline

    Danthok Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think this is in the programming, mine does not do this either. If I slide out the keyboard it goes into landscape mode.
  4. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see. Cool, thanks!
  5. lefos
    Offline

    lefos New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hmm

    I had read somewhere else that this was an intentional thing. When you are looking at the home screen it is supposed to be easier if you are in portrait mode than in landscape mode. But if the keyboard is out it is forced to switch so you can read stuff.
  6. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Home screen WILL NOT rotate via auto-rotate. It will only rotate when the physical keyboard is opened.

    </thread>
  7. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    I do think this is something they are changing though, a simple feature such as auto-rotate should work on the home screen. It's not like the home screen can't rotate, it' just not set for auto-rotate, which would be a very simple fix.
  8. Stigy
    Offline

    Stigy Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it has been this way since 1.1 so not sure if they are planning on making it a separate option because I wouldn't want my home screen to auto-rotate, but I like the other apps that do.

    Only time will tell...
  9. New2u
    Offline

    New2u DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,631
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Tallahassee, Fl
    Ratings:
    +17
    It should at least be an option in the settings menu to allow for auto-rotate for home screen for those who want it.
  10. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,145
    Likes Received:
    842
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +850
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    may cause a problem when a call comes through. That was a big issue with the Storm. Screen would freak out and the user would have to chase the "answer key" all over the place. (the hard send key didn't always work)

    Maybe the OS can't handle all that info at once so they left it out? I don't know.....

    I don't care one way or another though. I've adapted to it.
  11. EntropikOne
    Online

    EntropikOne Guest

    Top Poster Of Month

    Ratings:
    +0
    =\ too bad, the samsung omnia (my previous phone) handled it very well with windows mobile....screen would auto-rotate to how ever you're holding it
  12. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok, so its not supposed to and might never. Got it. Thanks for the replys!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Search tags for this page
'why wont my surface tablet go into landscape
,
droid wont goto main screen
,

galaxy tablet screen wont rotate

,
galaxy tablet won't go to landscape mode
,
movies won t shift to landscape mode
,

samsung galaxy 2 tablet wont go to home screen

,

samsung galaxy tab screen not rotating

,
samsung galaxy tab won't change to landscape
,

samsung galaxy tab won't switch to landscape

,

samsung tablet wont orient