1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Home Replacement Apps (the good, the bad & the ugly)

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by FastKatt, Sep 15, 2010.

  1. FastKatt
    Offline

    FastKatt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    I thought it would be a good idea for all of us to post some tips & tricks as well as any issues we've found with the home replacements on the market.

    What home replacement are you using?
    What have you found to be wrong with it?
    Have you found a way to make it work better or fixed a problem with it?
    Is there just something that is flat out incredible or really crappy about one of them, in your opinion?

    Lets have it!
    Thanks guys & gals!
  2. FastKatt
    Offline

    FastKatt New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    I seem to be having a problem with my phone wanting to take as much as 20 seconds to "redraw" my home screen.
    If I don't "wait it out" it will Force Close on me if I try and swipe it to the side or click a widget before it's ready...

    I'm using ADW.Launcher with SS4.7 (because the dev said he likes it & installing the ROM removed LauncherPro from my phone) My Default Home is set to WidgetLocker, so that might be the issue.
    Anyone have any hints to help me out?

    As for Widget Locker, I love it!
    It's great to have all the extra sliders on my screen to jump right into an app while I'm on the go! Plus, the Beautiful Widgets Clock & Weather is much nicer than the stock clock on the lock screen.
    I think it's a tad over priced, 0.99 seams fair for what you get. Yet, I have no regrets...

    Launcher Pro seemed to be a very nice home replacement. I really liked the extra icons when you swiped the bar to the side. I hope to be able to reinstall it after a factory reset & use it with the SS4.7 or SS4.8 ROM

    Sweeter Home Beta is a kickass home replacement! Very versatile! It did tend to get a bit laggy, but I will give it an other go. (Any hints for this one would be appreciated!)
  3. Mamaperk
    Offline

    Mamaperk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I love launcherpro plus but it hasn't been playing nice with my dx. When I was using it, the screens started moving, a if I was scrolling and clicking widgets, apps, etc ... Lots of lag and redraws.

    When I hit my home key I get the choices of using launcher pro, widget locker and sweeter home but not stock. What's up with that?

    Im getting frustrated with the whole home/launcher issue lately.

    I'm on DroidX, not rooted ( yet ) ...

    Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk
  4. flyboyzz1
    Offline

    flyboyzz1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try the app home switcher to set launcherpro as default.
  5. DroidMomof9
    Offline

    DroidMomof9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid-West
    I just added launcher pro and it put it on and now everything is gone - any good tutorials on how to set it up.... I am overwhelmed.... help
  6. flyboyzz1
    Offline

    flyboyzz1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    this program puts a new homepage on top of your phones real home page. You need to add apps and shortcuts to the new homescreen. If you click menu and then preferences you can edit all the options of launcher pro.
  7. DroidMomof9
    Offline

    DroidMomof9 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mid-West
    I ended up uninstalling it for now.... I just need an easy set-up for my phone right now. Then as I use it more (only had it about 10 days), I will tweak it to suit my needs.
  8. Phreaker47
    Offline

    Phreaker47 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    755
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    This should get rid of redraws for good:

    - In ADW launcher (use the latest from the market), under system preferences, enable "System persistent". The homescreen will no longer auto-rotate to landscape mode, but this helps immensely by reducing the memory footprint to reduce redraws. (apps will still auto-rotate, of course, according to preferences set in the ChevyNo1 options. Just not the home screen.)

    - Make sure you have the latest version of Widgetlocker. Disable "home helper", and make ADW your "true" home app once again. Enable the new "5 second rule bypass for root users" option in WL instead, and allow it superuser permissions.

    - DELETE launcher2 with Chevy's scripts then reboot.

    I have zero redraws now. Zero... and I struggled with this FOREVER.

    If you somehow still have issues, take a look at other apps you have installed... specifically, if you have too many memory-resident apps such as tons of widgets, services, etc. You might need to trim that down if you somehow still have redraws after doing the above.
  9. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Recently came across Zeam.

    Nice, simple, does the job.

    -Droid Does
  10. Nibbz
    Offline

    Nibbz New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    254
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im using ADW, i used to use Launcher Pro and LOVED it but it started running very poorly on my Droid, i at first thought it was just my droid but when I installed ADW it started running loads better.
  11. johnnycool001
    Offline

    johnnycool001 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a few questions. I am stock running 2.2d, I have the redraw issue as well. I seamed to get better for a while but now its back again. So now I am thinking or trying launcher pro. My Question do I have to clear my stock screens to install it? and not if I switch back will it still be as I left it. Will I have a choice to switch between stock and the third party launcher? Does all the current widgets, wallpapers and such work with the other lanuchers just like stock?
  12. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,350
    Likes Received:
    270
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You can leave everything on your home screen. Download home switcher from the market. That will allow you to switch between stock and launcher pro. (It doesn't quite work as it used to in 2.1) all Widgets will work the same. You have options to have more launcher icons and things. Makes it easy to launch programs.

    -Droid Does
  13. thistle
    Offline

    thistle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    131
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've been using dxtop pretty much since the Droid came out but could not for life of me get it to stop redrawing on cyanogenmod. I switched to Zeam about two weeks ago and it seems like a new phone. Incredibly fast navigation and zero redraws. This home has just the right amount of tweakability for my tastes.
  14. dorlisa
    Offline

    dorlisa New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I have Launcherpro Plus and loved it.. but two days ago, I started getting force closes and could not do anything.. I tried to reboot my phone and it locked up... ended up losing everything on my phone... got it back to the way I wanted it, LPP started acting up again today and I couldnt even use phone so now.. I unistalled it. I am very upset cause I loved it but.. what is point having it if you cant even use phone?

    Please fix LPP!!!
  15. techgov8
    Offline

    techgov8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I used to use launcherpro plus but after a while went by and the dev deserted it I switched to go launcher and its awesome. The only problem Ive ever had was it using up to 38mbs of my cpu but all I did was restart it and it was fine. But that's rare.
  16. mcatdtDroid
    Offline

    mcatdtDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Was a launcherpro user...switched to golauncher (love all the go products)

    Tried a few others out, including sbf (a tablet launcher) didn't like that

    Also tried so 3d launchers.

    But currently like vtl.launcher dock bars on the left and right and bottom ate nice, no swipe on the docks, but its nice overall.

    I wish I could find an app that puts dockbars on any launcher screen and id switch back to go launcher

    sent from my droid x while driving.....thank you tapatalk for making this possible
  17. techgov8
    Offline

    techgov8 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2012
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go launcher does have a docl at the bottom. And it has up to 3 to switch between
  18. mcatdtDroid
    Offline

    mcatdtDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I know.... but vtl has one at the bottom, and one one the left, and one one the right always in site. I was wondering if there was an app that gave you docks on the left and/or right.

    I have smarttaskbar, but you have to open that

    sent from my droid x while driving.....thank you tapatalk for making this possible
Search tags for this page

widgetlocker redraws home screen