1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Holy cow...I just tried Swype

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by loop4zil, Feb 11, 2010.

  1. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    Great app! It makes texting fun...it is almost like a game. I keep trying longer and longer words. Pretty accurate so far.

    Longest word you have managed to swype? For me so far it is "mississippi"
  2. Mamaperk
    Offline

    Mamaperk New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I LOVE swype! It's my default keyboard ... I'm still learning new things after using it for a few weeks ... I have switched to smart keyboard off and on for a little while and find myself swyping instead of typing. LOL! So my long swyped words ... hmmm... the most often typed long words are probably - breastfeeding and homeschooling.

    Have fun swyping!
  3. dunefreak91910
    Offline

    dunefreak91910 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I tried swype and love using it in portrait. Not so nice, for me, in landscape. Is there a way that you know of to set swype to only be the portrait keyboard and regular keyboard in landscape?
  4. takeshi
    Offline

    takeshi New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Not automatically. You can manually toggle though.
  5. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    where is swype??
    i cant find it in the market.
    :(
  6. dunefreak91910
    Offline

    dunefreak91910 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Link removed due to unauthorized posting as later stated in this thread. Sorry Swype Team. I did not know you had not released it to the public.
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2010
  7. REARless
    Offline

    REARless New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pittsburgh
    uncharacteristically
  8. mach330
    Offline

    mach330 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    682
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The OC
    i see the trial version. what can't the trial version do? gotta try this out and see what all the fuss is about. i can't imagine typing faster like this, but we'll see.
  9. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    another APK file
    i take it use ASTRO to install, correct?
  10. dunefreak91910
    Offline

    dunefreak91910 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Yep. ASTRO.
  11. dfwdroid
    Offline

    dfwdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i am getting an error about the screen size :(

    any idea?
  12. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta

    that is a solid swype!...I will now attempt
  13. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    when are you getting the error?
  14. armeddroid
    Offline

    armeddroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Traffic Capital
    interesting
    never used it before
    so i take it, the more you use it, it creates a bigger library?
    what about the delele part
    if you want to delete an entire sentence.
    tips?
  15. MNTNBKR
    Offline

    MNTNBKR Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Fenton, MI
    Constitution
  16. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    that is a really good idea. Maybe you should lob that to the developer
  17. dunefreak91910
    Offline

    dunefreak91910 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I am now happy with the toggle. I did not realize with a long press in the text box it allows you to switch keyboards. I guess the key to this phone seems to be, when in doubt, long press.
  18. dfwdroid
    Offline

    dfwdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    when i try to type something like a text or a email for example.
    then virtual keyboard doesn't even show up. it gets stuck then i get an error message:

    "The Swype package you installed does not match the screen size of the device. please contact Swype about this issue. Screen Size: 854x480"

    :mad:
  19. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    onomatopoeia. That took some practice
  20. loop4zil
    Offline

    loop4zil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    743
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    That sounds crazy. I am no expert (you will be able to tell from my adivice)...I would unistall via astro...delete the apk from SDcard...and start over from scratch.
Search tags for this page
largest word in swype
,

longest swype word

,

longest word on swype

,

longest word swype

,
longest word you can swype
,
swype does not match screen size
,
the swype package you installed does not match