1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Swype beta 5612 expired?

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by nmh5028, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. nmh5028
    Offline

    nmh5028 New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My Swype beta v 5612 is reporting that it has expired. Anyone else getting this?

    I'm also registed for the official beta program, but when I install Swype using the installer provided, it just tells me that it is for a different device and I am unable to swype. Is there a way to fix this?

    ===========================================

    mod edit (so this is in the first post of this thread):

    #############################################
    subsynth found out that
    Swype is available for beta testing for all, tomorrow, June 16th, 2010.
    Want Swype? (yes, you do) – Get It Tomorrow For Android Phones

    Thanks subsynth!
    ##############################################


    • If you are not signed up for the swype beta...go sign up for it at https://beta.swype.com/android/create/
    • if you got notified via email (first one sent out June 8th, some still coming in even today on June 15th) you can follow their install instructions at https://beta.swype.com/android/welcome/detailed/
    • If it tells you your screen size is no good, try again.
    • If it tells you it is for the wrong device try again
    • You may have to go into settings/apps/manage apps, menukey-filter-all and uninstall both your current swype and swype-installer and then try again.
    You need to be part of the beta team to legally install and run the Swype keyboard software. DF does not allow the linking to copies of apps such as the Swype beta nor the asking for such copies of the software. Doing so can result in the banning of anyone posting said links, asking for links, or posting how to aquire such software.

    This thread exists to assist those stuck installing their legally obtained copy of Swype.

    New beta info posted by billyk , on June 8th:


    Christim
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 15, 2010
  2. stick1300
    Offline

    stick1300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Mine just started doing this to me too. I really hope there is a fix, because I love swype!
  3. bwhite757
    Offline

    bwhite757 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Happened to me at 12:01 this am... Now I'm learning to type on the regular keyboard again... My buddy haa the version downloaded from the swype site and is not having any problems with his... I don't mind paying for the keyboard, just hope it's made available for the masses soon...
  4. awsolot
    Offline

    awsolot New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    After an upgrade to BB v1.1 I got the expiration notice. Mad wACK!
  5. misterMAG
    Offline

    misterMAG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Swype released a new version of the beta. That's why all the old versions expired today.

    If you guys didn't know, the beta is closed.
  6. misterMAG
    Offline

    misterMAG New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh yeah, if you're part of the beta, you should've received an email from them for an installer. The installer requires you to log in.
  7. stick1300
    Offline

    stick1300 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I signed up for the previous beta, but it had already closed, so I was on the waiting list for when it reopened. Still no word. I REALLY want it back
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  8. iRanduMi
    Offline

    iRanduMi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    me 2! I've become completely dependent on Swype. It's soooo good! =(
  9. iPhoneBlowz
    Offline

    iPhoneBlowz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    I got the new beta but it is not working. I emailed back and forth with support to no avail. They ended up telling me it was user error. Yeah right. -_- lame



    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
  10. Corinacakes
    Offline

    Corinacakes Super Moderator Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    did you try unchecking and rechecking the swype box in language and keyboard? that cleared up the problem for lots. good luck
  11. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    I have the new beta as well. I havent tried an old beta yet. Maybe ill do that now!

    EDIT: My old betas of Swype arent working either. Looks like you guys just got to find the new betas.
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  12. iPhoneBlowz
    Offline

    iPhoneBlowz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Freedom, PA
    Thanks for the reply Corina. Yes I made sure to do that. They even had me download an app called SendLog. I sent it to them and they said it looked like it should be working.
    I followed the instructions to uninstall both the app and the installer then reboot. After rebooting downloaded the new beta, installed it. And no dice. I rolled back to the previous version for a few days til they killed it like everyone else's. :(

    I just downloaded it one more time before dumping it for ShapeWriter. It installed fine and is working. I have no idea why it took some many times trying and jumping through hoops. Uninstalling ShapeWriter as soon as I finish this update. heh
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  13. Stretch2m
    Offline

    Stretch2m New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2010
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Switching to ShapeWriter for good this time. I uninstalled by now expired beta copy, and then installed the installer, which then installed Swype, and it immediately says, "Unable to register Swype: already installed" or some such. I'm soooo done with jumping through their hoops. I resisted switching to ShapeWriter last time I had trouble getting Swype to work (yes, I am registered in their beta) because it takes some getting used to, but now I'm going to make the effort because I'm tired of all the shenanigans. I don't have the patience to troubleshoot - YET AGAIN - why I am not being allowed to install Swype even though I've followed the directions exactly. I don't care any more: NO keyboard is worth this hassle
  14. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's in beta, what do you expect?
  15. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SoCal
    SlideIT is a better alternative to Swype than Shapewriter is. But Swype isn't released to the public yet so you got to be patient. It is still in testing phases hence the BETA.
  16. INFERNO
    Offline

    INFERNO New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Mine just recently said the same, but I re signed in again and re installed swype from the downloader, and now I'm swyping again!
    BB froyo.
  17. peterpressure
    Offline

    peterpressure New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having been using Swype for months now without issues, why is the BETA so long?? I am willing to shell out soem $$ for this app, but this is ridiculous. I will probably just try a competitor.
  18. Phillipsave
    Offline

    Phillipsave Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I agree with mixologist that SlideIT is the best alternative to swype, and their paid version is best.
  19. Darkseider
    Offline

    Darkseider New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just uninstalled it and installed SlideIT.
  20. Taegost
    Offline

    Taegost New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    688
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa Bay, Fl
    EDIT: Removing reference to where I found a working version per ToS.
    It gave me an error once about the screen resolution on my Droid but is working beautifully :)

    My Droid Does Tapatalk...
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
Search tags for this page
droid swype beta 5612 apk
,
swype .5612
,
swype beta trial expired
,
swype personal iformation
,

swype trial expired fix