Hey Droid fans! I've arrived! :D

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by Fejti, Jun 13, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. Fejti
    Offline

    Fejti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, i've arrived, and finally found this forum. The forum that gives home for the phone that beats the ***** iPhone, yup the Moto DROID!
    Sooo...im really big fan of this phone, BUT i dont have it...i write down my saaaad story.
    So once upon a time, there was a hungarian boy, whose classmate has bought an iphone in the early of 2010...i tried it, but i didn't get impressed...i thought, maybe i should change my 5 year old sony ericsson. I started to search about a smartphone, with really big touchscreen. It must be bigger than the iphone...and i wanted a real keyboard, because the virtual is not so good...And than, i found the DROID. Ooohh woooaaahh, damn this is the most awesomest phone ever! And its not a "made in china" its a Motorola! Started to read the tests, the tech.specs. price, etc. not bad, not bad, i thought. But the price...what could i do with it? Lets order it from abroad! Maybe from America! ebay.com--->motorola droid, search etc etc, and whupeee, its really cheap outside!(in ebay, u can get a droid around 350-400$, if you calculate you can get one in hungary around 650-700$) BUT i was / i am confused about the verizon, the GSM/CDMPA or what, and i don't know, that the DROID and NOT the Milestone, so can i put a SIM card in the DROID? So this is my big-big problem, the SIM card, not that the verizon gives me one, the point is: Can i put a SIM card in the DROID (not the Milestone), or no?
    ok then... i love motorcycling, linux, lenovo, playing on guitar, listening some rock music, umm etc
    So, thats me...yup...Sprite...
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    Welcome

    The Droid does not take a SIM..it's CMDA not GSM.
  3. Fejti
    Offline

    Fejti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dang :/ :icon_eek:
    That is soo cruel...man...so i have to buy the Milestone....hmm hmm But my friend can put a SIM card into his iphone... :(
  4. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    :welcome: to the forums.

    The iPhone is a GSM phone which still uses SIM cards. The Droid is a CDMA phone that does not use SIM cards.

    If you have a SIM you need to put in the phone then yes you will have to buy the Milestone which is pretty much the same as the Droid.

    NO Verizon phone uses SIM cards at all.
  5. Sam
    Offline

    Sam Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    dirty dirty
    Ratings:
    +1
    some blackberry "world phones" do, maybe other smartphones, not sure..
  6. X_TAC23
    Offline

    X_TAC23 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,789
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    deep in the heart of texas
    Ratings:
    +3
    The blackberry phones use sim cards. FYI
  7. MiXoLoGiSt
    Offline

    MiXoLoGiSt Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ahh ok i thought Verizon did away with SIM cards all together. All the more reason not to buy a BB :D
  8. Martin030908
    Offline

    Martin030908 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    BB uses sim cards for their 'world phones'.
  9. Fejti
    Offline

    Fejti New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay, thank your for the information :)
    I've checked the german ebay, and there are milestones with veeery good prices :O So, its not a problem :D And the delivery will be cheaper too ^^ :D
    But, the iphone 4 is appeared :O Dang, our favorite phone should do something, to beat that too :O I cant wait for the DROID 2 ^^ :D