Help with new OTA for Droid 2 and MAC

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 2 Development' started by longjas, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. longjas

    longjas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok guys I need some help. I want to load the new OTA update to my droid 2 before loading any more roms. Here is what I currently have.

    I am rooted and gained root by using Terminal Emulator and bootstrap

    Baseband verison : BP_C_01.09.05P

    Kernel 2.6.32.9-g59f0395
    w30471@il93lnxdroid08#1
    Fission 1.2.1_upgrade.zip

    if anyone can explain in an easy way on how to upload the new OTA with my MAC I would appreciate any help! It's killing me not having a new rom and I don't want to risk bricking my device without the new OTA. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,092
    Likes Received:
    5,180
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,755
    If you can connect the d2 to your mac and mount it then all you have to do is get the files from here: TBH & MyDroidWorld Present: Droid 2 (2.3.20) Triple Threat

    and follow those instructions. Now rsdlite will not work on a mac so hopefully you have a netbook or some form of pc that you have access to. I would not recommend playing around with roms with out it.
     
  3. longjas

    longjas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks for the reply. So essiantially I am going to need to get access to a windows computer and use RSD lite. Without that I can't get the OTA?
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,092
    Likes Received:
    5,180
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,755
    Rsdlite is just for if your phone will not boot up at all. Rsdlite is the last case scenario. You can load up roms through clockwork recovery mode. And MDW Odexed file is essentially that....so all you need to do is install that file like you would any other rom. Once you load it and get it running make a nandroid backup.
    Rsdlite is like if nothing works.....and u cant do anything else....so basically a last ditch effort.
     
  5. longjas

    longjas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ahh... got it. So all I need to do is put the odexed file and put it on the root of my memory card and install it like any other rom. Do I need to mount the sytem also or any other requirements? Once it's done loading essiantially I won't have root any longer and then regain root through whatever process I choose and then load my new rom. Am I correct in all this?
     
  6. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    24,092
    Likes Received:
    5,180
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +5,755
    sorry for being slow to respond. If you follow the step in that thread you will be fine. You will still have root. And make sure you wipe data and cache.
     
  7. mrksbrd

    mrksbrd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +2
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    Twitter:
    mrksbrd
  8. longjas

    longjas New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks soo much for the help. I now have the ota update. I will definitely look into that ubuntu linux. I love this forum! :)
     
  9. mrksbrd

    mrksbrd Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +2
    Current Phone Model:
    LG G3
    Twitter:
    mrksbrd
    Just remember this method is only needed for a full sbf flash back to stock, no need to follow this method if you just want to update. All you will need to do for that is reboot into recovery and run update.zip from sd card