help with bionic root

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by kstaley2411, Apr 27, 2012.

  1. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i tried rooting my bionic last night. i downloaded the drivers and did everything that the guide told me to. my phone rebooted and everything like the guide said and after it was finished i tried to download titanium backup and it said i wasn't rooted? anyone have any idea why it did this? any help would be much appreicated!
     
  2. BroidDrionic

    BroidDrionic Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Which tool were you using? Which guide were you following?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Droid Forums
     
  3. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    the guide i was using was the very first one on the bionic hacks that was stickied how to root your motorola droid bionic. and the tool was motorola one click root.
     
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    You have to use Motofail now... google it, and I'll go looking for a link as well. Will report back if you don't find it first.
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
  6. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    i found it thank you so much! retrying the root now as we speak
     
  7. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    now it is just sitting at waiting for device. i have it set on charge only and have usb debugging allowed.
     
  8. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    also have tried plugging it and re plugging it back in a couple of times now.
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    The last time I saw someone deal with that it was an issue of not having the latest drivers. Where did you get the drivers from?
     
  10. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
  11. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    So in the first root method you tried, that didn't work, it recognized your device it sounds like? Is that right?
     
  12. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    yeah the first method i tried it recoginzed it and even started to root process. it even said it was rooted successfully but when i went to use my phone after it it was not rooted.
     
  13. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    Try unplugging everything, then do ctrl+alt+del, go to processes, and if you see "adb.exe" running, end it. Then try again
     
  14. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    also make sure it's not something simple, like the first method disabling usb debugging or something along those lines...
     
  15. kstaley2411

    kstaley2411 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    [*]
    [*] Motofail: Universal Motorola Android Root Exploit (Windows version)
    [*] by Dan Rosenberg (@djrbliss)
    [*]
    [*] Tested on Droid 3, Droid Bionic, Droid RAZR, and Droid 4
    [*]
    [*] Before continuing, ensure USB debugging is enabled, that you
    [*] have the latest Motorola drivers installed, and that your phone
    [*] is connected via USB.
    [*]
    [*] Press enter to root your phone...
    Press any key to continue . . .
    [*]
    [*] Waiting for device...
    * daemon not running. starting it now *
    * daemon started successfully *



    that is what it said when i tried re rooting it again. also it went crazy and kept saying phone not found