Hello, I'm new to Droids and forums as well.

Discussion in 'New Member Introductions & Site Assistance' started by skyeD, May 18, 2012.

  1. skyeD
    Offline

    skyeD New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello, I got a Droid 4 yesterday and I think I will love it as soon as I figure out how everything works. I still can not get it to connect to the Wi-Fi. It sees my home network, it asked for and accepted the password to my router. It tells me the signal is good, I ask it to connect and it changes the status to "connecting..." then after a second or two it says "Disconnected." It doesn't give me an error message or any indication why it will not connect. Since I have never had a Smartphone before I decided to join this forum to see if I could learn how to resolve the problems I've discovered. This is the first forum I have ever joined so please forgive me if I have no forum savvy.
  2. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,605
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Hello and welcome!

    We are happy to have ya with us! Congrats on the D4...

    What type of router / wireless n or g or some other? The phones will sometimes connect to one but not the other...
  3. JSM9872
    Offline

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,936
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Somewhere In Pennsylvania...
    Welcome to DF!! Let us know what type of router you have and we will go from there.
  4. skyeD
    Offline

    skyeD New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Solved the router problem

    I have a Linksys Cisco router. I tried some experimentation last night and discovered that if I plugged my phone into the USB for my computer, turned it on and accessed the wireless network (via the computer) I could request that the network find new devices and it found my phone. Now the phone is connecting to the network without a problem. I don't know why I couldn't connect straight from the phone like the other devices I have added to the network, but I don't guess it matters because it is working well now. Thanks for the kind welcome and the offer of help on the solution. I am learning new stuff everyday as I learn how all the options on my phone work, I may be back with more questions.
  5. smalltowngirl13
    Offline

    smalltowngirl13 DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    6,605
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Kansas
    Awesome news! Glad ya got it!!
  6. SFGate
    Offline

    SFGate New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2011
    Messages:
    3,265
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Welcome to the site. DancingNexus