HDMI output not working on S5

Discussion in 'Android Support' started by chf868, Jul 20, 2014.

  1. chf868

    chf868 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S5
    I have used my phone many times to watch Netflix on my TV through a hdmi adapter, but now it's not working. It's not the adapter, cable or tv because it still works just fine on my husbands. I'm assuming my son changed something in my settings while playing on my phone, but can't figure out what it is. Anyone have any ideas?
     
  2. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Welcome to the Forum.

    Try these steps and let us know if it resolves your issue..

    Step 1: Connect one end of the HDMI cable to the HDMI port at the back (or side) of your HDTV and the other end to the HDMI port on the adapter.

    Step 2: Hold the charger and plug the microUSB to the port on the adapter and plug the charger to the electricity source. This will power the adapter up.

    Step 3: Now, plug the microUSB connector from the adapter to the microUSB port on your Samsung Galaxy S5.

    Step 4: Set the TV to display the picture fed through the HDMI port where you plug the HDMI cable.
     
  3. chf868

    chf868 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S5
    Thanks, but the issue is not the connection! We keep the cable hooked up almost continuously as we watch Netflix and Hulu quite often. My husbands phone still works just fine when hooked into it so the issue is within my phone somewhere. I just can't figure out where. I'm assuming something was accidentally changed in my settings, but I don't have a clue what it could be.
     
  4. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    A factory reset will bring your phone back to the way it was when you first got it.
    If you have any data you wish to keep, you will need to backup to an SD or to your computer. If your phone will not connect after the reset, I would have it replaced.
     
  5. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    I'm not sure if there are settings within the phone regarding HDMI output, but maybe compare your settings to your husband's phone first? Have you tried restarting your phone or a battery pull since this problem occurred?
     
  6. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    I don't think there are any HDMI setting. IMO, if a FR does not fix the issue it's most likely a hardware problem.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  7. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Have a feeling there aren't any settings either, but worth a shot. Hopefully an FDR will do the trick.
     
  8. chf868

    chf868 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S5
    I didn't think there were any settings for it either, but figured I would ask just in case I was missing something. Tried to do a factory reset this morning with no luck so now a new phone is on its way. Should be here tomorrow :) Thanks everyone for your help!
     
  9. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,079
    Likes Received:
    1,508
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,672
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Guess it was a hardware problem. Glad you got it resolved so quickly though. Hopefully this new one keeps on working
     
  10. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,678
    Likes Received:
    3,546
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,034
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Glad you got it resolved.
     
  11. Jaymf1991

    Jaymf1991 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S5
    My S5 is having the same problem. It was fine until i received the update from Android 5.0 to 5.1.1. So heads up do not update to 5.1.1 if you want to use mhl/hdmi cable. It crashes my phone when i plug it in then gets stuck in boot loop until you unplug it. Ive already spoken with tmobile and samsung and they say its a software glitch. If your having the same problem call your carrier and samsung and complain. The more complaints they receive the faster they will push out a update
     
  12. cr6

    cr6 Super Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Messages:
    8,371
    Likes Received:
    5,882
    Trophy Points:
    1,778
    Location:
    NW Rocky Mtn region
    Ratings:
    +6,713
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy S7 Edge
    Twitter:
    @dronewolfmedia
    Welcome to the forum @Jaymf1991 !
    Thanks for the input.

    S5 tap'n
     
Search tags for this page
enable mhl galaxy s5
,
galaxy s5 hdmi not working
,

galaxy s5 mhl not working

,
galaxy s5 mhl settings
,
how to enable mhl on galaxy s5
,
mhl adapter galaxy s5 not working
,
mhl adapter not working s5
,
s5 hdmi settings
,
samsung galaxy s5 mhl adapter not working
,
samsung s5 hdmi settings