Having trouble with outgoing email on roadrunner

dave500

Reaction score
I've been using my DroidX for 2 months now. This last week, I've been having trouble sending email. They come in fine, but when I send, they just sit in the "outbox". Went to the Verizon store and the guy removed and replaced the battery to reboot and it worked. Next day same issue, so I did the battery thing and still nothing.
Now, if I remove the roadrunner account and reinstall it, it works. Seems to happen if I send something with a large filesize, like a 2mb photo.
Today I have removed account and reinstalled for the 4th time. It's getting old!
Any advise is sure appreciated.

mwhartman

Super Moderator/RS
Premium Member
Reaction score
I've read several post from members who use RR and they experience the same issue. Unfortunately, I do not remember the solution of if there was one.

AngryHatter

Reaction score
I have a RR pop3 account and MailDroid is the only app that works for me.
I tried K9 and it did the same thing the stock OEM app did...nothing.

Pyzon

Reaction score
I had to go into my email account setting and change the outgoing server setting to use the same configuration as the incoming server.......But I have not idea why....and when I switch back to using RR at home, I have to switch it back......Wish I could quit doing that.
I going to check out MailDroid to see if that resolves this issue.

Natey2

Reaction score
Verify with RR support:
I believe they only accept connections for outgoing mail if you connect from a RR IP address, not some other (Verizon, AT&T, work) IP address.

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

Pyzon

Reaction score
So how do we get around this to send RR email on the road ? Will MailDroid do the trick ?

AngryHatter

Reaction score
So how do we get around this to send RR email on the road ? Will MailDroid do the trick ?

Yes.
It works.
And no, you don't have to log in from a RR account to access RR mail.