Handcent Auto text setting Help

Discussion in 'Android Applications' started by bigtmonee, Dec 29, 2009.

  1. bigtmonee
    Offline

    bigtmonee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi, if you go to handcent -> settings -> auto text setting -> auto text list setting, it brings up a list of autofixes it will make while your texting. I added "ou ----> you" and "ne ----> me". But when I went to text, it didnt make these corrections. How do I get this to work properly?

    Thanks,

    Chris
  2. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do you have Auto Text checked?
  3. bigtmonee
    Offline

    bigtmonee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes I do. Do you have experience with this function? Have you tried adding a custom correction?
  4. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Autotext only works with the slide out keyboard....
  5. bigtmonee
    Offline

    bigtmonee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, maybe I'm doing something wrong because it didn't work for the pullout keyboard either :(
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you tick the button in the Auto Text Map List dialog?
  7. bigtmonee
    Offline

    bigtmonee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You mean the button's next to the corrections you input? Aren't they for selecting them to edit or delete?
  8. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, Sorry about that.....too many things going on here...

    If you view the list after creating inputs, the autotext will stop working till you restart the app....

    It has some weird quirks that need to be fixed but it beats the stock app
  9. bigtmonee
    Offline

    bigtmonee New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Excellent, then my next question is, how do you restart the app??!!

    EDIT: Figured it out, just killed it. But now I think handcent should create a function to customize the auto text list for the soft keyboard!
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2009
  10. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just go into settings>>applications>>running services then stop the app and fire it back up
Search tags for this page
auto text handcent
,
handcent auto reply
,

handcent auto text

,

handcent auto text not working

,
handcent auto text settings
,

handcent autotext

,

handcent autotext not working

,
handcent autotext settings
,
handcent autotext stopped working
,
handcent edit autotext list
,
how do i disable the auto text feature in handcent
,
how to auto delete text in handcent
,
how to edit autotext in handcent
,
how to fix auto text keyboard on handcent
,
why is auto text settings gray in handcent