Google Voice: Anyone cancel their texting plans?

Thefamous1

Reaction score
Anyone using Google Voice and decide to cancel their texting plans?

I'm debating about doing so. Can you cancel your minutes as well?

Slothead

Reaction score
Texting? I know nothing about texting, but I am really impressed with the way Voice works! My wife called me the other day, and even without using the Voice phone number GV digitized her voicemail (I guess because she called on of the subscribed phones) and I got an email that she had called. Good work Google. I am still learning about it. (I wish that Voice had the good tutorials that Wave has.)

techguru

Reaction score
I cancelled my text plan. However, if you subscribe to any service like msnbc breaking news or numerous other text services, they can't text to a gv number. Luckily the only services I subscribed to also have email options so I just swiotched them to my gmail address.

Using google voice uses your minutes, so you can't cancel those.

Alan

hookbill

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score

Alan

That's not my experience. If you call out on your Google Voice number it should not get charged against your minutes. However your's is not the first post I've seen saying this. Prior to getting my Droid I was able to do it that way, I don't understand why it would be different now.

droiddoes1912

Reaction score
If you add your GV and the access number to your Friends & Family, it will be free. But, that is saying that your access number stays the same. For the most part it should, but I heard if you travel it will change.

backlash

Reaction score
Never had a text plan with Verizon to begin with, but I've been using GV for sms messaging since I've had the phone (end of Nov). It's been working out great.

Flomaster

Premium Member
Premium Member
Reaction score
I have GV, but I do not see how you can send Text messages via GV..