Gmail Account Hacked

brando56894

Reaction score
I didn't believe it when I kept seeing random posts on here from people with low post counts about their gmail accounts being compromised... until it just happened to me. Five of my friends just hit me up to tell me they got spam from me. I had a pretty secure password too, so it leads me to believe its malware in android that did it.

I guess it is possible. yay...

CD95YJ

Reaction score
Or it could be a virus on your computer that you got from visiting websites....

Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App

garrett

Silver Member
Developer
Theme Developer
Reaction score
i highly doubt its from something on your android phone..... most likely from a PC either yours or possibly if you checked your gmail from a public computer.

i worked in IT for a school campus and we would find a bunch of computers with keyloggers on them every week

takeshi

Silver Member
Reaction score
Why would people just make this stuff up? What would they stand to gain?

In any case, nothing is 100% secure unless it's completely isolated and locked down (physically).

dezymond

Tech Support Mod
Staff member
Premium Member
Reaction score
Current Phone Model
Google Pixel
agreed with takeshi, nothing is 100% secured.

most likely it came from a website you visited or downloaded something on your home PC. I've only heard of maybe 2 or 3 viruses on Android from apps that aren't too well known over here in the states. I know the latest virus came from an app from China.

run a virus scan on your PC, it may be too late, but it'll save from any further damage. I recommend Microsoft Security Essentials or Malwarebytes.

warrior21

Reaction score