1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Gingerbread OTA installed, issues with lower part of screen sensitivity

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by phoenix415, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. phoenix415
    Offline

    phoenix415 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a completely stock Droid X. Froyo update was received OTA and then patiently waited for Gingerbread OTA, which has now been installed. Device has never been rooted.

    Gingerbread loaded pretty well, a few glitches here and there, but I think most of the glitches were more on the app developer's side--just needed updates (like the issues with the LED's not working).

    However, I have notice one glitch that is very annoying and I can't find a way to fix it. The lower portion of the screen (right along the area where the new dock is) seems to have lost it's sensitivity when running other apps. For instance, when I'm using Swype, the lower row of buttons don't have a good response, I find I have have to fumble around sometimes to get the space bar to work and other buttons along the bottom row. Also, in another app, Wordfeud, the buttons along the bottom also seem to suffer. It is as if the new dock on the home screen is sapping the responsiveness from that section of the screen, even while in other apps.

    Has anyone else noticed this, or better yet, has anyone who has noticed this found a solution to it?

    Thanks!
  2. JBadiner
    Offline

    JBadiner New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have the same issue with SwiftKey. The space bar does not seem to register a press. I am made a million more typos since the update. Odd...I thought it was just me. Strange sensitivity or something. I also have some distortion when scrolling in the center of my screen (pixel-lated like)
  3. pudco
    Offline

    pudco New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am having the SAME problem... buty not only with swype, but iwth other keyboards as well, I actually switched to swype so I don't have to use hte space bar.... when i'm texting with other keyboards it just doesn't want to work anymore. This is so annoying I HATE IT!!!!!!! I don't know what the cause of it is but they need to fix it. It's almsot impossible to send even one message without having to go back and try super hard just to get a space in there.. It almost seems like they lowered the sensitivity of the entire screen, but esp the lower portion. If that is possible, it should really be a user changable setting (screen sensitivity) Cause this is terrible. Other than that I LOVE the update.
  4. phoenix415
    Offline

    phoenix415 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm surprised there aren't more with the same problem, I've been tempted to do a factory reset, but the thought I setting things back up the way I have them now is not a fun idea.
  5. floydiannyc
    Offline

    floydiannyc New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Same thing here. Space bar in swype needs to be hit multiple times. Also, playing Word Scramble and selecting letters is way less responsive.
  6. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    How about the issue using any other punctuation aside from the period. The box comes up and you have to slide to the extreme bottom to get a question mark.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  7. phoenix415
    Offline

    phoenix415 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm wondering if this is something inherent in the new Gingerbread release on Droid X or if it is a matter of how it loaded via the OTA update and can be resolved somehow. Has anyone had any success in resolving these issues yet? Maybe via factory reset or some other method? I'm still contemplating a reset, but if someone has tried it before me, I'd love to know if it helped or if I'd be wasting my time.
  8. sweenbeen
    Offline

    sweenbeen New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    Same. Id like to know also because im not rooted so a reset will be a project (only because I hate starting from scratch)

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  9. FoFa
    Offline

    FoFa New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    Mine is working no different than before the update in this regards.
    Just F.Y.I.
Search tags for this page

android screen loses sensitivity

,

area of touchscreen does not work after ota

,

atrix screen too sensitive

,

gingerbread android lower sensitivity

,

gingerbread screen glitch

,

lost sensibility on the lower part of the screen

,

lower part of screen not working on note 2

,

screen sensitivity galaxy s3

,

what causes the droid x to glitch