Gingerbread is totally crap (for the time being)

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by ibrooks123, Apr 21, 2011.

  1. ibrooks123

    ibrooks123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I had been seeing tons of thread on this Gingerbread OS. Reading up I learned it is simply the leaked version of the new Operating System that is still unreleased to OTA (stock) users. Since I am rooted, I wanted to check it out; I had already been thru 10 ROMs and 30 themes, so why not??

    Let me tell you: phone processor seems to be functioning much slower. (I've frozen unnecessary bloatware)

    3G download speeds on the same file from the same website at nearly the same time of day are only DLing at 50% of their normal.

    And all though the awesome developers that have made so many awesome ROMs for us to play with, nothing except Liberty is available at this time(and I can't even try that because my TB that is a clean and donate version from the market) force closes and tells me toplay revert back to Froyo.

    Im certainly not complaining! ! Just want to warn people that its a lot of work for literally a 98% drop in fun and personalization.

    If someone more experienced can find a way to fix these problems please let me know :p

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  2. ahC_hED

    ahC_hED Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chattanooga, Tn
    Ratings:
    +0
    Damn, im running the Gb leak and im loving it. Sorry, that you don't like it and having problems. I can't wait till GJ comes out on the GB build tho.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  3. ibrooks123

    ibrooks123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    Its the "little things" that bother me. They should have given an option for the dock. I hate that threshold only 4 buttons. I know u can change then, but im OCD and always had my drawer button on the center of all 3 rotating docks. The fact that its not much more customizable is a little disapointing to me. What is it about the new OS you like?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. spaz33g

    spaz33g Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    6,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Location:
    orange county, ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    i feel you for sure but think about the stock froyo dock. only three icons that weren't able to be changed at all.
     
  5. ibrooks123

    ibrooks123 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Arizona
    Ratings:
    +0
    You're totally right, however, I mentioned my OCD and I liked the drawer button being in the middle for whatever crazy reason, it just made sense.

    Also, it appears that my phone never stops syncing. Even tho I have it set on the nighttime battery mode and have actually totally disabled all forms of sync, the icon is still there and its bugging me. I guess since its a leak I can understand its not perfect yet, but I still prefer my Froyo for the time being and will most likely flash back. Also, it was mentioned that Liberty was available for GB in the toolbox. However, it force closes, doesn't do anything properly, and when I opened it up(one of the few times it didnt FC) it told me that I needed to go back to 340 in order to use it. So, how do I get Liberty installed? Ignore the warnings and write over it?
     
  6. Howie Dub

    Howie Dub Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    In order to get rid of the sync icon, you have to wipe from the privacy menu in settings. After that, the icon should not stay on anymore. That worked for me.

    Swyped from my Droid X while doing a #2
     
  7. skennelly

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
    You have to be on .340 and upgrade to gb liberty from there. It's telling you you have to be on froyo well, because you have to be on froyo.

    To stop the sync issue on gb you either have to wipe data or freeze/rename the blur_sync.apk (might not be the exact name).

    Sent from my DROIDX
     
  8. turdbogls

    turdbogls Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    O-Town FL
    Ratings:
    +4
    dont take this to hard. but are you serious?
    First, you obviously did not install it correctly otherwise you sync icon would not be on continuously. Wipe Data/cach and it will go away, along with most of your other problems

    as for the dock, you can still download Launcher Pro, ADW, or GO launcher and get the app drawer in the middle, WITH your scrolling/looping Dock. and if you want, you can use the stock app drawer with the other launchers. create a shortcut and choose "app groups all"

    sorry for being rude, but you should have read the instructions better. i know for a fact on every install procedure i read it says to wipe data/cache or at least do that if you have the constant sync icon
    simple fix to get you where you need to be: boot into clockwork, wipe data/cache/dalvic cache (under advanced) maybe re-flash the GB file/files and start fresh.

    i have been on the GB leaks since the first day and they have always been faster than any other 2.2 ROM i have run. and this latest leak is AMAZING with ZERO problems.
    sorry you have issues, but you kinda brought it on yourself. :(
     
  9. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,841
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +61
    I think I agree with this. I didnt have the sync icon thing happen to me. I had to SBF back to stock Froyo and did a complete wipe of everything when I first installed GB. I'm on the first GB leak and my phone is running fine. Cant wait to try out the latest leak.

    I tried to go from Apex to GB but got stuck on the bootloader screen when the leak first came out since some ppl said they did that and it worked. So maybe that was a blessing in disguise since I had to wipe everything anyway after that.

    But this is normal. I remember when Froyo first came out for the Droid 1. The majority of us were very happy with it, saw and felt the improvements over 2.1. But, there were some ppl that Froyo didnt work right for. It did more harm than good. So you saw some Froyo sucks!! threads popping up here n there. Its hard to tell why some things works for some and doesnt for others.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2011
  10. Perky69

    Perky69 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    West Plains Missouri
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was having too much data issues with gb so I'm back to liberty 2.0.1 for now.
     
  11. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4
    Simply...allow me to "help" you out a bit...

    1) Liberty ROM is for Froyo...not Gingerbread...so its no surprise the Liberty Toolbox you donated for doesnt work. Thats not Googles fault, or a fault of the GB OS...its your fault for not paying attention and reading...

    2) So you are saying the OS is killing your 3G speed. Weird, seeing as the updated radio in GB should have increased your signal reception...or did you forget to go back in and redo *228 a couple days after installing GB?

    3) If your phone is slower...you are doing it wrong! Plain and simple, GB is faster than GB on Droid X`s...users across the Andrid Forums bear this out... Make sure you do a Data Reset after the install...it "cures" most issues on the GB releases...

    4) Gingerbread ROMS will be forth coming...in time, just as it took for Froyo ROMS to come. I know you expect speed seeing as all the money you spend buying ROMs....ohhh, wait a minute..I forgot, ROMs are free or donate only...Little Baby Jesus has tears because the people making these things out of the kindness of their hearts arent going fast enough....seriously...its a phone. Make some calls with it and take a day off from trying to make it "pretty"...or, conversely, learn to make your own ROMs, that way you can moan to yourself for not being fast enough to placate yourself....:icon_eek:
     
  12. ahC_hED

    ahC_hED Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Chattanooga, Tn
    Ratings:
    +0
    ^^ I think there's a liberty gb nightly out right now. That might be what he is talking about.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
     
  13. abn75

    abn75 Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Running the GB leak myself and find it fast. Better than froyo

    Sent from my Gingerbread DX
     
  14. skennelly

    skennelly Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +29
     
  15. BodyBagz

    BodyBagz Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,198
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    North Alabama
    Ratings:
    +4