Gingerbread for ThunderBolt OTA Update Rolling Now

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Sep 28, 2011.

  1. dgstorm
    Offline

    dgstorm Editor in Chief Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    7,780
    Likes Received:
    1,715
    Trophy Points:
    258
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,746
    [​IMG]

    It's official. You can get Gingerbread 2.3.4 for your TBolt now. If you haven’t received the update just yet, you can manually get it by going into your Settings > Software Update > Check New.

    *** This is for stock devices only ***

    *** There seems to be some bugs already such as voicemail notifications ***

    Source: ThunderboltForums.com
     
  2. iGrizz
    Offline

    iGrizz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Troy, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    I randomly checked this afternoon out of curiosity and I had a 143 mb download. Took about 15 minutes to download and I checked my software afterwards and I am indeed running on Gingerbread 2.3.4.

    EDIT: I had two voicemails when I downloaded the update and they still are in my notification bar. Have not opened up voicemail to listen to them. Don't know if that helps at all but my voicemail seems to be working fine.
     
  3. SithDroid2187
    Offline

    SithDroid2187 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Voicemail notifications show up after a reboot or putting the phone in / out of airplane mode. I bet if you listen to them, reboot your phone and then leave another voicemail, the notification will not come back until you do one of the two steps earlier.
     
  4. iGrizz
    Offline

    iGrizz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Troy, OH
    Ratings:
    +2
    Gingerbread seems to have blocked LauncherPro. I cannot find the app in my app drawer and when I check my downloads on the marketplace it doesn't give me the option to open it. All it will let me do is uninstall it.

    Any ideas?

    EDIT: Haha I downloaded ADW Launcher to see if it would work and it doesnt. It does the exact same thing, won't appear in my app drawer and when I open it in the marketplace it says Uninstall and that's it. Guess Gingerbread won't allow me to use Home Replacement Apps.
     
  5. Dusty
    Offline

    Dusty Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    914
    Likes Received:
    231
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    DC/NoVA
    Ratings:
    +246
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6
    I was using LP when I received the update this morning, and it worked and is still working after the update.

    Haven't had any problems with SMS or VMs.

    Out of curiosity, are the people reporting problems using the official OTA or the "leaked unofficial" GB direct download that was posted onlined last week?
     
  6. drakenhoffen
    Offline

    drakenhoffen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same issue. Went into the applications-> manage applications-> All and cleared defaults on "HTC Sense"
    Pressed the home key and it asked me which home I wanted to use.
     
  7. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    Can u get ota if you installed leak v. 2.11.605.2

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  8. markgam
    Offline

    markgam Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok, upgraded this morning and I just gas three reboots in a row. I just hope that isn't going to start again!

    Sent from my TBolt
     
  9. gallows
    Offline

    gallows New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is your Voicemail Notification not working with Gingerbread?

    TeamBamf released a patch to fix it today for those running their Bamf Forever 1.0.6 rom. The ROM is also the same version as the OTA push.

    So bag crappy slow verizon and htc support and just root and install the rom. They have step by step instructions on their forums that make it very very easy. I'm an idiot and I made out just fine. These guys have been wonderful in keeping me up and running when verizon and htc have dropped the ball!

    [GB][2.11.605.0][Sense3.0]BAMF Forever 1.0.6
     
  10. Mysfit
    Offline

    Mysfit Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't recieved the update yet. Still tells me no update available. Still on 2.2.1 stock.

    Sent from my Transformer TF101 using DroidForums
     
  11. UBNUTN
    Offline

    UBNUTN New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i heard of another guy who was rooted and downloaded the last leak and it wiped out some of his saved stuff. I am however stock,but will i need to save anything before i download this ota?
     
  12. jseah
    Offline

    jseah Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +25
    Nope. If you installed the leak, it will wipe your phone. But if you get the update from Verizon through the OTA management, then all your data will be saved and restored.
     
  13. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    What if you are running leak, will you still get ota?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  14. Iowaberg
    Offline

    Iowaberg Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    This morning I checked for new software, and it said it was available. I deferred it until i read a little more about it. Now tonight, i check for new software, and it says nothing is available. I double checked and im still running the old version. What do i need to do to get it again?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  15. rbw62
    Offline

    rbw62 Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2011
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I believe this is a SOAK TEST, if there are enough problems they will pull it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums