Full Data Kill Switch - Is There One?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by M3-ADDICT, Jun 21, 2010.

DroidForums.net is the premier Android Forum - Registered Users do not see these ads. Please Register - It's Free!
  1. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aside from the airplane mode, is there anyway else to turn off the data Fully and turn it back on at my discretion. I'm on the basic Data Plan, 50MB for full month. I use WI-FI all the time when needed, and only want to use my 50MB for emergencies or finding an address, phone number on the go. The Droid doesn't have it :( I've turned off Background Data, Sync, and even GPS Satellite, and it still leaking data.

    I read somewhere that the new OS Update for the Moto Droid will have that Kill Switch Option like the Incredible and the ERIS, but who knows when that will come out. Anyone know any Apps, any settings that does this?
  2. bomber889
    Offline

    bomber889 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you on 2.2? I'm not sure if theres one for 2.1 but there is for 2.2
  3. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    It says Firmware Version

    2.1-update1

    How do I get the 2.2 Firmware? Is it the official release, or Beta?
  4. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have to root your Droid to update to 2.2 because Google hasn't released 2.2 yet. Also, the android 2.2 that many developers are using isn't built from source so its still experimental; use at your own risk.
  5. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I can't use the Nexus Android 2.2 on my Droid?
  6. Backnblack
    Offline

    Backnblack Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,263
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Ratings:
    +5
    What device do you have?

    If it's a Droid you have Unlimited Data.
  7. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm on the basic Data Plan, 50MB for full month through Page Plus Celluar, which uses Verizon Wireless's Network and it's phones.
  8. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    No you can't. If you really want to update to 2.2 I would read up on rooting.

    Some threads to help you:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/632-what-root-means-stop-asking.html

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-hacks/38528-getting-root-access-you-phone-after-2-1-update.html
  9. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    What do you think of this video?
  10. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
  13. jlaidlaw
    Offline

    jlaidlaw Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    California
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's for a different phone, you cannot take 2.2 from the nexus one because the code is completely different. This is why there are custom roms using code that was leaked and not officially from Google. Since you are new to the world of rooting I would follow the step by step video I gave to you. Also, I should've told you this before.

    Rooting VOIDS your warranty and could potentially brick your device so if you don't follow the steps correctly you could make your phone useless. If you are not confident you can root your phone then I wouldn't continue with it. If you brick your phone Verizon will not replace it. SO, Don't blame me if you brick your phone.
  14. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now before doing all this, the Android 2.2 OS for sure has a Kill Data switch like the Iphone, Droid Eris, and the Incredible right?
  15. M3-ADDICT
    Offline

    M3-ADDICT Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    His first phone is a Motorola Droid? I don't know if he went with the ROM Version or just straight forward as he wrote it.

    [​IMG]
Search tags for this page

data killer switch

,

does my droid have a kill button

,

droidx data switch

,
kill switch for motorola atrix