Freezing After Froyo

Discussion in 'Droid X Tech Support' started by meganimel, Sep 23, 2010.

  1. meganimel

    meganimel Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so this isn't my problem, but rather a friends. She doesn't go on these forums but her phone has always had issues. Her camera app would freeze up, screens would get stuck, and she always had to do battery pulls to get it to stop. Well, eventually the problems somehow resolved themselves but since Froyo it would seem that her phone has once again began freezing up.

    Has anyone else had this problem? I certainly haven't, but part of me thinks there may be something wrong with the phone itself.

    She doesn't have it rooted, all bloatware is intact, and she has never tried to mod her phone in any way.
     
  2. ayeroxor

    ayeroxor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    FROYO for Droid X is BUGGY.

    I have DEFINITELY noticed more freezes and quirky behavior since Froyo. I have rooted, but I have NOT removed a single thing. I only use the rooting to have the ability to run a wider range of programs.

    The freezes are not localized to a single app or action. I had ZERO freezes the week or two I had the phone before I ran the OTA upgrade. That first day after the Froyo upgrade, I had to pull the battery for the first time. I have since had to do it three more times.

    As we speak, I am waiting for several minutes for the phone to boot up because when I tried to play videos recorded on the phone, whose thumbnails show up fine, the phone says it cannot play them, but when I download them from the phone over USB in Mass Storage mode, the files are fine.

    FROYO for Droid X is BUGGY.
     
  3. ayeroxor

    ayeroxor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. ayeroxor

    ayeroxor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My phone has been booting up for five minutes and will not respond to power-off to try to reattempt boot. Make this battery removal number five... :/

    EDIT: After battery removal, booted up in 30 seconds.
     
    #4 ayeroxor, Sep 27, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  5. Juicemane

    Juicemane Bang Bang
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,098
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Ratings:
    +4
    Stupid question but have you done a factory reset and cleared the cache? Try the 2.2 sbf?
     
  6. DroidMomof9

    DroidMomof9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mid-West
    Ratings:
    +0
    I noticed earlier a new website was taking a long time to load and acting wonky when I was switching from vertical to horizontal and back... thought it was the website....

    Then a few minutes ago, I tried to play some music.... no go....

    Then I went into the camera - could see my pictures, but when I tried to view a video..... now I can't even open up my camera - tried to take a few pictures etc....

    ooh this is frustrating....
     
  7. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Too all of you: Factory Data Reset.

    And get rid of any task killers or virus protection you are using.
     
  8. DroidMomof9

    DroidMomof9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mid-West
    Ratings:
    +0
    do I need to be near a verizon tower to do this? the closest one is 10 miles away....
     
  9. ayeroxor

    ayeroxor New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice. Here's the reset procedure for my fellow noobs:

    Hard Reset Droid X
    EDIT: Hard reset not always necessary. See below.

    What can we look forward to losing/redoing after a factory reset?

    Also, the closest thing I have to AV is ES Security Manager. Do you know/trust it? It's supposed to be decent.


    Thanks!
     
    #9 ayeroxor, Sep 27, 2010
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2010
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    So long as you're getting a signal it shouldn't be an issue. Basically you're just cleaning out your phone and starting it with factory settings, with the exception of 2.2 being on the X.
     
  11. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    You can do the factory data reset out of your privacy settings. A hard reset is not necessary.

    You will lose data and any unpaid applications after the reset. Your SD card will remain intact. You will need to sign into everything.

    I've never heard of ES Security Manager. So long as it's not shutting off running apps in the background, I don't think there are any worries.
     
  12. DroidMomof9

    DroidMomof9 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Mid-West
    Ratings:
    +0
    looks like all is working fine now - THANK you!!! dancedroid