Factory Reset with 43V3R Root...

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by k1ngr4t, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    So I'm 4ever rooted currently. I really want this update. However when I search nothing happens, it just keeps searching. I've left it on for hours and nothing happens. I'm reading success stories about people who get the "Not Available" message and then do a FDR and immediately receive the update. I'm just curious as to if I can do one of these and if I'd retain root after? To unroot I'd basically have to do a complete reset anyways, so I'm wondering if I can just backup everything and go for it. Thoughts??
     
  2. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Do you mean the official 5.893 OTA?Did you flashed any leaked OTA before?
     
  3. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes and no, 100% stock with the 4ever root.
     
  4. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Ah, I wanted to add that I read people who were having issues had out of date apps in the market. So after updating them, they found the OTA. In my case, I have one unupdated app, Citrix Reciever, which is of couse a bloatware app. It's not frozen or anything and it doesn't give me the option to update, only open/uninstall. I tried uninstalling and re-updating, but still no luck. Thought this was interesting...
     
  5. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2011
  6. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yeah I used option 3, I had the one click root and went to this.
     
  7. wseyller
    Offline

    wseyller Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2010
    Messages:
    737
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Hendersonville NC
    Ratings:
    +8
    Floating around somewhere is the ota you could download. Put it on your sd card then flash it through stock recovery.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
     
  8. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I see,i think you aren't fully 100% stock...if i were you... i have to use option 1 (just to make sure) and if you eager to get the latest official OTA update(5.893).Most of them having a successful flashed using option1,try it!
    Sorry having hard time typing to my old D2G..
     
  9. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yeah I'm aware of all the leaks out there, but I'd rather just get it from Verizon. I do like your idea of trying option 1, would like to get others feedback on this if it's a bad idea or waste of time? Seems like it might work though...
     
  10. wilboy
    Offline

    wilboy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    A REMINDER: once your device booted up,do not log on to your google acct. first,skip all. Then turn your USB to charge only mode and turn on USB debugging(w/ check),then continue till the 4ever root applies.
     
  11. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Good to know. I'm assuming there will be a step by step process in the root program describing all of that as well?

    Though I would like to know if anyone else has any ideas before I go through with this. I'm one of those super careful with how I mess with my phone people and just don't want to make this more complicated than it needs to be...
     
  12. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    Bump for Jesus
     
  13. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16
    Ok, so went from 5.7.893 to 5.5.886 using this method.. now can somebody point me to a thread on how to get to 5.5.893 plz?


    TIA!
     
  14. k1ngr4t
    Offline

    k1ngr4t Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,346
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +33
    If you're back to 5.5.886 from a leak, can you not use the system update?

    Also, don't hijack my thread son!!
     
  15. Speeding Wheels
    Offline

    Speeding Wheels Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,555
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Detroit - in da burbs!
    Ratings:
    +16
    system update fails due to the baseband and radio being updated.
     
Search tags for this page

blackberry d1

,

how to reprogram a droid bionic to factory after root

,

how to wipe droid bionic after root

,

will master reset remove root on bionic