Factory Reset Questions

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Sprank1, Apr 5, 2010.

  1. Sprank1
    Offline

    Sprank1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello Everyone,

    Fairly new Droid user here (about 3 moths I guess).

    I did the update manually to 2.1 and have been hearing a lot about problems with the Gallery and Google Earth and how the only solution is to do a Factory Reset.

    Well -- I'm not having any problems with the Gallery - it is working fine and syncing with my picasa albums with no problems.
    I don't see Google Earth in the Market, but really only looked because of all the posts about it missing. I probably would not install it anyway.

    So ... on to my questions ...

    If I do a Factory Reset from the setting menu -

    1 - will I have to enter all my email settings again?
    (I have three gmail accounts, and one email account in K-9)
    2 - will I have to re-download all my application from the Market again?
    (if so, will they all be listed in the "downloads" section, both paid and free apps?)
    3 - will I need to go through any activation process with Verizon?
    4 - will my bookmarks, saved passwords, etc. in the browser be saved or erased?
    5 - will my screens be reset to the stock?
    (will I have to re-add my gadgets, shortcuts and folders?)

    I think that is all the questions I can think of at the moment :icon_eek:

    And ... I did try searching for over an hour and found some information here and there, but also found conflicting information in different threads.

    So - any answers will be greatly appreciated.

    Thank you. :)
  2. Chilazr
    Offline

    Chilazr New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. yes
    2 Yes. But you won't have to pay again. Google keeps track of what you bought through your account, not your device memory. So you'll just have to go click on "downloads" and they'll all be there.
    3. No, it might ask you to do the *228 thing, but not an "activation".
    4. Erased
    5. Yes

    It's not a HUGE pain to do a hard reset on these phones, thanks to Google, but it's not something I would do just cuz I'm bored. The first time I did it, it was because I changed Google accounts. So there went all my paid apps, since it was new account Google had no way to know that it was me trying to get at them. But as long as you're not doing that, then you should be fine.
  3. Sprank1
    Offline

    Sprank1 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Thank you so much for the quick and concise answers. I did the reset anyway - I had been installing and uninstalling things to try them out and after the 2.1 update I just figured it might be good to clean things up.

    I did realize that a lot of the things I had installed on the phone, I never use anymore ... so now I have less clutter and phone is running great.

    Thanks again.
  4. AnneDroid
    Offline

    AnneDroid Rescue Squad Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just a suggestion, (because you've resolved the issue already), but you may want to look into signing up at App Brain Find great Android apps and games - AppBrain. It loads up a list of all of your apps so that if this happens again (God forbid) you'll have a list to go by and it even makes suggestions for new ones that may interest you. The signup uses your GMail username and password, so it's painless. Glad it all worked out for you! Enjoy!
  5. ohioDroid
    Offline

    ohioDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm wondering a bit more detail about this. K-9 let's you specify 'classes' of folders and how to display everything. I have A LOT of folders. Is this data stored on the SD card? Or is that reset too and have to be reentered?
Search tags for this page
can a factory reset anroid phone be tracked
,
can a phone be tracked when factory reset
,
can android be tracked after factory reset
,
can the phone be tracked if done a hard reset
,

can you track a hard reset phone

,

can you track a reset andriod

,

how to do a factory reset on a track phone

,

how to factory reset a track phone

,
how to reset a trackphone andriod
,

how to track a factory reset phone

,
track hard reset phone