Factory reset

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Dingbat, Feb 22, 2015.

  1. Dingbat

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Spare me the go search comments please. I'm 73 and might not have time to go search :). You should be fascinated that a geezer like me knows as much about Android as I do.

    My Galaxy Tab got real sluggish. I don't use it much so I decided to do a factory reset. My surprise was that it downloaded everything! I thought I could load stuff from the play store as I desired.

    My question is that my S5 is acting strange (esp re battery consumption) and I'm tempted to factory reset it too. But, if it downloads everything that is on it now, what do I gain?

    Suggestions welcome. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    It won't download those apps again if you tell it not to sync with Google when you set it back up.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  3. FoxKat

    FoxKat Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    14,806
    Likes Received:
    4,751
    Trophy Points:
    838
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +5,290
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2 & Galaxy S7
    Welcome back old timer! Been a member for quite a while but one thing you maybe don't realize. We don't stand for people flaming others for the lack of searching to find their answers. Yes, we'd prefer if you could try but not everyone is skilled in using a search tool and yes, it does take a certain amount of skill in selecting the proper search terms to find what is relevant to your concerns. Even then, you may not find an answer even if it's out there.

    So please feel free to ask away again in the future and we'll be happy to oblige you with an answer.

    To your question... During the initial setup after doing the Factory Data Restore, there is a screen which asks you if you want to backup your data to Google servers and also if you want to restore them from the Google servers. If you uncheck that box, it will not automatically restore all the apps again, and once the restore is complete and you're back to stock you can always go into settings and check that box again and it will begin tracking the apps and data from then on.

    [​IMG]

    Sent from my Droid Turbo on Tapatalk.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Miller6386

    Miller6386 Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2011
    Messages:
    2,282
    Likes Received:
    1,589
    Trophy Points:
    1,363
    Location:
    Beer Tent Capital of The World
    Ratings:
    +1,734
    Current Phone Model:
    Note 4
    Twitter:
    CoreyFMiller
    You can also just go into play stay as soon as it starts downloading the apps, select stop and that kills the downloading also.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  5. Dingbat

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Thanks all! I knew this is a polite place since I lurk and learn a lot. Guess I forgot that because I use other hobby forums and there are folks there that do nothing but say search! As noted, if you don't know the terminology, you can't do an effective search.

    Got it on how to reset. Let me follow that up by questioning if I should do it? The S5 has gotten quirky in that it hangs up now and then. Worse is battery: it has started eating through it for no apparent reason. There is no obvious culprit in the battery usage screen. I asked about this on the S5 forum and folks agreed with my guess that it is the lousy reception area I live in. Most of the time I'm 1X but sometimes 3G...I'm guessing that it is eating the battery searching for a better tower. This is supported by the fact that battery is better in town, but not as great as it used to be.

    But wife's identical S5 doesn't do this as bad as mine here at the house. Hers goes down but no where near as fast as mine.

    Thoughts? And thanks in advance.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    A bad signal certainly will contribute to battery loss. Generally speaking no 2 phones are configured the same, with the same apps doing the same things or with the same frequency. Your problem could be related to frequent mail syncing, (or some other active widget, even weather) that your wife isn't doing exactly the same. Or, you may just be using it more.;) Struggling with WiFi will also add to battery drain.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. Dingbat

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Good thought! I just deleted all the weather aps and a couple of more that may be causing unnecessary tower pinging or GPS searching. Will see how that works before nuking it. I'll report back for the benefit of others.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  8. Dingbat

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    How long should a factory reset (from the Settings Menu) take? I'm 25 min into "shutting down". Thanks!
     
  9. leeshor

    leeshor Gold Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    4,363
    Likes Received:
    1,437
    Trophy Points:
    358
    Location:
    Norcross, GA - USA
    Ratings:
    +1,676
    If it's still only in the process of shutting down for the first time that seems excessive.
     
  10. Dingbat

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yeah. Over an hour and would not respond. Pulled the battery and did the reset. Thanks!
     
    • Like Like x 1
  11. Dingbat

    Dingbat Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +11
    Just to report back. Pulled the battery and did the reset. Glad I did. Battery life and responsiveness is back to normal and it was easy to select the apps I really wanted. Don't be afraid to reset is my message. Thank you folks for your help.

    The only strange thing is that signal strength is down a bit from yesterday. We're in a bad area but always got at least 1X and even 3G sometimes. Getting hardly anything now. But that could be the tower.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. mindylewis1981

    mindylewis1981 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello I tried to flash my droid bionic it went to 21 out of 22 and battery died is there anything I can do now its battery low and boot failure
     
Search tags for this page

my droid turbo did a factory reset