Factory Reset before Lollipop?

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Turbo' started by EA.Droyd, Aug 16, 2015.

  1. EA.Droyd

    EA.Droyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Raleigh, N.C.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, 64GB
    I want to know if I should perform an FDR before I update to Lollipop. I remember in years past, it was said to be recommended to Factory reset before updating android operating system to the latest and greatest. I guess it was to guarantee a clean slate for the update with no residual issues from any rogue apps or previous OS bugs.

    Is it still recommended and did most of the Turbo forum members here do it. I kinda hate to start over from scratch and don't want to lose any if my 360 watch faces, though I think I have that worked out. I just want a smooth experience.

    Any thoughts or recommendations?
     
  2. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +130
    Personal choice on the FDR before a major OS update. It certainly can't hurt anything, but if you do, don't have it automatically restore everything that you currently have. Add apps, etc. after updating to Lollipop. Then you will have a clean FDR.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  3. iiWoodstocK

    iiWoodstocK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2014
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    53
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Ratings:
    +61
    I didn't do a FDR before Lollipop even though I planned on doing one. (Small Orange Apple Kiwi hint, hint. Lol)

    I did however clear cached app data prior to updating, then clearing the cache partition after the update. I haven't experienced any issues with Lollipop since I updated.
     
    #3 iiWoodstocK, Aug 16, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  4. EA.Droyd

    EA.Droyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Raleigh, N.C.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, 64GB
    How do I keep it from automatically restoring everything? Can I pick and choose what is restored?
     
  5. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +130
    Not sure that you can pick and choose, but you can uncheck Auto restore in Settings/Backup and reset/Auto restore.

    Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk
     
  6. EA.Droyd

    EA.Droyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Raleigh, N.C.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, 64GB
    I would need to do this before doing the FDR?
     
  7. bruben7886

    bruben7886 Gold Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    591
    Trophy Points:
    253
    Ratings:
    +651
    Yep
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. EA.Droyd

    EA.Droyd Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Location:
    Raleigh, N.C.
    Ratings:
    +17
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, 64GB
    Thanks, auto restore must be relatively new as I don't remember this option on earlier droids.
     
  9. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,483
    Likes Received:
    7,062
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,404
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    Auto restore is a lollipop feature.

    Personally, when I do an FDR with an OS update, I do it AFTER I install the update.
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  10. kmf1

    kmf1 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    119
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +130
    You are correct JohnnyKansas regarding Auto Restore. I forgot that. Thanks.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  11. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,483
    Likes Received:
    7,062
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,404
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    When I did a factory reset after updating my Note 4, you could tap check boxes at the beginning of the auto-restore to either install or not install apps that you previously had installed, but as I went through the list removing ones I didn't really want anymore, it was already installing and ended up continuing on. I reset it 3 times before I decided just to let it reinstall everything and I'd go through after and uninstall the ones I was ready to get rid of.
     
    #11 Jonny Kansas, Aug 17, 2015
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2015
    • Like Like x 2
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I do my FDR after I do the install..or if I get a new device I check for any updates.. Make sure all is situated..then i do an fdr..some say its overkill..I say..you do what you do.. I'll do what I do..my devices always run flawlessly for the most part..With zero lag..
     
    • Like Like x 4