Drop my droid in water, what do i do????

sierradeanne

Reaction score
yesterday while was cooking, so i sat my phone on the counter, later i found it was wet, so i tried to turn it on but didnt work so i put it in rice til this morning. when i tried to turn it on it didnt. what should i do?? how long should i wait for the rice treatment? i tried it 12 hours after i post this

Last edited:

brad92

Silver Member
Reaction score
You messed up. You should have put it in rice for atleast 24 hours before trying to turn it on. Leave it in the rice for another day or so then try it. If not, you're gonna have to get another phone

Boot Manager

sweeeeet

Silver Member
Reaction score
rice? really.. never heard of this method.... me personally right after it happened I would've yanked the battery and throw it in the oven or use a blow dryer.. but that's just me.. im no pro on wet phones lol

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums

JRParsons

Reaction score
There's a lot of threads on this, but the rice idea is the most widely accepted, do not use your oven, and resist the urge to turn it on. The method i have had the most success with is to take out your battery, open your slider (if applicable) and place the phone on top of your Cable box for a day or two. There should be just enough warm air flowing through it to dry it out.
Unfortunately when you attempted to turn it on you may have shorted something. Since it was just water and not coffee or something worse, in theory drying it out should allow it to become operable again.
If you try the rice or cable box for a couple of days and it still doesn't work, you may need to make an insurance claim if you're covered, otherwise you may need to purchase a new/used phone.
If you go used, please search these forums for advice before you give anybody any money, as there are many scams out there.

doogald

Reaction score
I save those silica packets that you get when you buy stuff just for this purpose.