Droid X stuck in a boot loop

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by Subcurrent, Dec 24, 2010.

  1. Subcurrent

    Subcurrent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

    About two or three hours ago I had flashed ApeX on my Droid. I then played around with it and liked it enough to keep, so I decided to change the string "Verizon Wireless" to something a little more desirable, so I did.
    And now I'm stuck in a boot loop, with what I suppose is the ApeX version of the droid eye (it says ANDROID) and despite all efforts, nothing has worked.
    I've tried the power + home button method and going to reformat and wipe everything (tried all the options in that menu) and none have worked. I have no idea what to do now. I would appreciate any help.

    I have a rooted Droid X
    ApeX 1.3.1 (or whatever the latest is as of today)
    Before that I had Droid stock froyo.
    Don't ask me if it's DeoDexed or whatever - as I have no idea.

    (Please excuse me if this is the category - I assumed the more knowledgeable people would be here.)
     
  2. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    You might have to sbf back to stock... sorry

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. Subcurrent

    Subcurrent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have no problem doing that - I backup everything (well, just my contacts, that's all I care about, the phone is three days old, I have next to nothing on it) but how exactly do I do that? A link, perhaps?
     
  4. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I am assuming that since you were using apex 1.3.1 you were on system version 2.3.34? Am I correct?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    If so you can use the system sbf found http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/...ystem-baseband-2-3-340-kernel-bootloader.html here.

    You will need 2 other things. A program called RSD lite, this will be loaded on your computer and you want at least version 4.8 and then the latest motorola drivers found
    http://www.mydroidworld.com/forums/droid-x-discussion/5151-droid-x-2-2-full-sbf-leaked-download-now.html

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. Subcurrent

    Subcurrent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Uhh, yeah. (I guess)
    I found a website showing instructions on how to install a "leaked" 2.2 sbf, is it okay to follow that website's instructions? And would I be able to just upgrade to 2.3 once installed?
     
  7. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Read my previous post and make sure to read everything on rsd lite.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  8. Subcurrent

    Subcurrent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a ton, I've already downloaded RSD lite and brought my phone into boot loader. I have to go pee now though, from sheer excitement. Thanks a lot, CD.
     
  9. Subcurrent

    Subcurrent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sadly, RSD Lite 4.6 is failing. Whenever I load the .sbf into RSD and click start I get a "Failed flashing process. Unable to retrieve initialization values from INI file. Clueless as to what to do, Google'd a bit and they all said to switch to RSD Lite 4.6... which is what I am using.

    Edit: If it matters, the .sbf I'm flashing with is named "VRZ_MB810_2.3.32_1FF_01.sbf"
     
  10. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need at least rsd 4.8, 4.6 is an older version and might be why its not working. Find 4.8 or 4.9 and try it again.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  11. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ok mate, check your PM's
     
  12. Subcurrent

    Subcurrent New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Absolutely beautiful. I've never been so happy to see a little alien before in my life. Hopefully someone will send some brownie points your way, as I cannot. Updating to RSD 4.9 did the trick, and I am now back on stock android. :)
     
  13. CD95YJ

    CD95YJ Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    Ratings:
    +1
    I sent you a PM with the 2.3.340 system link, I noticed you were flashing 2.3.320 which was a leaked system file. Basically what that means is if you stay on 2.3.320 your phone will not get the OTA updates. For some they don't care, but if you want gingerbread (android version 2.3) when its released you will have to be on system version 2.3.340
     
Search tags for this page
doid x will just kepp doing a boot loop
,

droid x stuck in boot loop

,
droid x stuck in bootloop
,
rsd light download for droid x thats stuck in boot loop 2.3.