Droid uses while inactive

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by aeternaly, Oct 31, 2010.

  1. aeternaly

    aeternaly New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I'm new to this forum and it seems like the best place to post, please don't be too harsh on me if I'm wrong.

    I'm thinking about buying a droid for $200, and was wondering what uses there is inactivated (I know it has WiFi, but can you use it?) I know you can't use 3G or any of that stuff, but I can still use my camera, WiFi, music, etc, without activating, right?

    I'm just leaving it inactivated until I can grab myself a job and pay for an actual plan.

    Thanks,

    Ron
     
  2. Backnblack

    Backnblack Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    11,261
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Ratings:
    +24
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7+ 256gb
    Yes, You can use wifi without activation...basically it'll act just like a itouch...but better ;)
     
  3. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    moved thread to Gen. Discussions.

    ...but you're not in trouble :) it's completely Ok.

    Welcome to the Forums! Glad to have you here.

    to answer your question...

    You can still a device that's not activated as your music player and camera.:)
    And wi-fi still works.
     
  4. aeternaly

    aeternaly New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome!!! That's EXACTLY what I was hoping for! I used to have an iTouch, just got fed up with all the bull****, you know? :D

    One more question if I may.. does the USB cable for the AC charger work the same as the data transfer cable for app development?
     
  5. Martin030908

    Martin030908 Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    8,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    151
    Ratings:
    +0
    yea you can use it for the wall charger or usb connection
     
  6. aeternaly

    aeternaly New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! Thanks.
     
  7. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry NO you can't use the Droid unless it already has a phone number attached. Lucklly you can add one in. If it's a Droid 1 dial ##7764726 send.

    That will allow you to "add" a #. Like 000-000-1234. Then as others have stated use Wifi to activate when the 3G activation fails. I've been using my been using my Droid 1 on WiFi for the last 5 months while I've worked on paying a past due bill down. You should be able to do the same.
     
  8. aeternaly

    aeternaly New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you get a phone number attached without buying a plan? Or do you need a plan to do the "##7764726 send" thing?
     
  9. gunz.jones

    gunz.jones Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The ## is a code put into the phone to unlock the part of the phone that handles the phone number....it allows a spoof to be put in if it hasn't had a number before
     
  10. aeternaly

    aeternaly New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, I see. Thanks.
     
  11. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Exactly. If it has a number then you are golden. Remembering back what you need to do if you can if temporally transfer a number to that phone. Because if the phone has NO number you can't even access the programming menu the ## number.
     
Search tags for this page
can i use an inactive android
,

can you use inactive phone on wifi

,

can you use motorola droid a855 without activating it?

,
how to unlock inact droid x
,

how to unlock inactive motorola android

,
inactive droid phone wifi
,

inactive phone wifi

,

use unactive motorola droid

,
use wifi on inactive droid 2
,

wifi on inactive droid