Droid Overclock - JRummy

Discussion in 'Droid X2 Development' started by MistaWolfe, May 22, 2011.

  1. MistaWolfe
    Offline

    MistaWolfe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed this earlier and it failed to install the overclock module. There is an experimental module you can try, but I didn't have the stones to push the button.

    Anyone else try it?
  2. trook
    Offline

    trook New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lake Elsinore Ca
    Im on the experimental on my droid 2, it works just fine, have you tried re-installing the apk?

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  3. MistaWolfe
    Offline

    MistaWolfe New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2010
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No I haven't. I'm thinking the worst that could happen is it doesn't work. I decided I'm going to leave my speeds as is for now.
  4. brockeverly
    Offline

    brockeverly New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    140
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It came over with Titanium Backup and is reading the temps at 7000 degrees so I am pretty sure there are some changes that need to happen. I have used it to block adds and manage boot animation but thats all.
  5. Icfatpeople
    Offline

    Icfatpeople New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't wait for a working overclock!!

    Sent from my DROID X2 using DroidForums
  6. Stagger
    Offline

    Stagger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm currently investigating how they managed to get it working on the Atrix. I have limited OS and Kernel knowledge, but quite a bit of assembly and C, so I'll see if I can't cook something up. If anyone has an idea on stuff to point me in good directions, feel free to pm me.
  7. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Stagger
    Offline

    Stagger New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Actually I'm reading over it :). Thanks though :)

    Edit: Seems like I have a lot more studying to do. Particularly in Kernel Modules. Also, if I manage anything, I will not test it until an SBF is leaked.

    I also have some reading to do over the nVidia chip set. I'm not very familiar with it yet.
    Last edited: May 27, 2011
  9. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Theoretically, the atrix module should require minimal tweaking, if any to get working. Same chipset, same OS. Should be cake. No need to wait to do anything - loading a module won't have a persistent effect. A simple reboot would solve any problems you encounter.

    I wouldn't be surprised if jrummy releases an update shortly to enable it.
  10. Elkay
    Offline

    Elkay New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CT, USA
    This. I was the one that got the first Droid X overclock working. Unless you have the module installing in one of the startup scripts, a power cycle removes any modules you load manually. I haven't had the time to look at the kernel module and memory addresses yet. I'm sure JRummy will get it going before I have a chance to.
  11. psouza4
    Offline

    psouza4 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Meridian, ID, USA
    CPU Master (free and paid versions) is capable of overclocking and underclocking the nVidia Tegra 2 CPU. I've been using it on my Viewsonic G-Tablet for about a month now... it's nothing fancy, but it works. Tried it last night on my new Droid X2 and it works there too.

    Of course, the stock kernel doesn't have any higher slots than the 1,000 MHz setting, so until new modules or kernels change this, you can only underclock with this app.
  12. JerseyFrankU
    Offline

    JerseyFrankU New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2011
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Duh
    wow - i don't know much - but - this is kinda big news?!?
Search tags for this page
atrix 4g overclock roms
,
droid 2 overclock.apk
,

droid x2 overclock

,

droid x2 overclock apk

,

droid x2 overclock app

,
jrummy android overclock apk
,

jrummy droid overclock apk

,
jrummy droid overclock directions
,
jrummy droid x apk
,

jrummy overclock apk

,
overclock apk
,

overclock droid x2

,
tegra 2 overclock app
,

tegra 2 overclocking

,
tpt tegra 2 overclock