Droid Not Completely "Formatting"?

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by CEHudgins, Jul 1, 2010.

  1. CEHudgins

    CEHudgins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi All,
    Long time lurker and first time poster. I ran into an issue today while setting up my Droid. For some reason, all of the settings aren't completely resetting when I factory reset through the security menu or when I use the "hold x / power on, flash / up volume" to reset. Every time I do it it always leaves settings left behind, for instance the preloaded wallpaper stays the same from what I changed it to (Not the default gray stone one, but another preloaded one), my volume settings and alert tones stay the same, and my applications are downloading on their own even though I turned off the ability to sync with my GMail account.

    Does anyone have any ideas on how to COMPLETELY reset this like it just came out of the box?

    I am looking forward to some more work and looking into ROMs but the amount of information here is definitely overwhelming, if you have any links you may could direct a true noob to, it would be greatly appreciated :) Thank you all!
     
  2. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    I too have noticed that after doing a wipe or even a factory data reset that certain things still remain, for example my bookmarks are still visable on the Droid.

    However I don't believe I've see the apps load without logging in first. That doesn't make sense.
     
  3. CEHudgins

    CEHudgins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Bump before I leave for a few hours in hopes that someone else has had this issue before.
     
  4. brando56894

    brando56894 Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you truly want it back to stock like the day you got it you could reflash the 2.0.1 SBF which will erase everything (except the sdcard).

    I do it occasionally after Ive switched roms multiple times and stuff starts to screw up a lot.
     
  5. CEHudgins

    CEHudgins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you point me in the right direction to do that, please
     
  6. CEHudgins

    CEHudgins New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doh, I am so sorry, when I posted the reply before this one I was actually posting from my droid and did not see that there was a link included in your text. Thanks so much :)
     
  7. mikeofmikes83

    mikeofmikes83 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Also, try setting up a new google account. I believe that this occurs because your using the same google account, and it starts these tasks before you get a chance to turn off the sync. Either that, or it forces the initial sync regardless of whether or not you want it to.