downloading apps problems

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid' started by akstyle450, Jul 25, 2010.

  1. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay, so ever since i tried a ROM earlier, ive had this problem when i went back to 2.1 using nandroid. when i go to update an app, it just says starting download and never changes, its really frustrating especially since the app is launcherpro >_<
    example:
    [​IMG]
    what am i suppose to do to fix it?
     
  2. lilhill
    Offline

    lilhill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this issue periodically too. I thought it had to do with my current ROM, but now I think the problem is on the actual market's end. Eventually the apps will download whether you just let it sit on "starting download..." or if you cancel the download and retry it minutes/hours/days later...

    Sent from my droid using Tapatalk
     
  3. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it must be something acting up with this right now because i still cannot download anything. I went to 2.2 earlier and it worked just fine. But i like my 2.1 for right now

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
     
  4. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay this is really pissing me off. i havent been able to do anything for a week or two now. does nobody really have a solution for this?
     
  5. furbymac
    Offline

    furbymac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    go to settings/manage apps/market/then clear the data and cache
     
  6. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    theres only a cache option.
    and that doesnt even do anything but make loading things faster
     
  7. furbymac
    Offline

    furbymac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    i don't know how it works but i was having the same problem when i loaded up bbv.04 with blue electric theme and i did that and it worked
     
  8. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    im wondering if reverting from 2.2 back to 2.1 is the issue
     
  9. furbymac
    Offline

    furbymac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    could be.....have you cleared your cache yet and tried again??
     
  10. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    as in wiping the cache partition?
     
  11. furbymac
    Offline

    furbymac Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    no the clear cahce under the market app
     
  12. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    yeah ive done that plenty of times
     
  13. WhiteWolf
    Offline

    WhiteWolf New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've had this issue myself for the last....week. I've tried clearing the cache for the Market, I've tried the "uninstall update" button for the Market, stopping the download and starting it again, toggling WiFi on and back off, toggling airplane mode on and off, turning the phone off and on, pulling the battery..... nothing has worked.

    Rooted Moto Droid running 2.1. I really don't want to do a factory reset, as I haven't run a backup in a while :\

    Edit: Something I just noticed.... when attempting to download a new application, the download icon doesn't appear at the top, nor does the screen flip to the Downloads screen.

    Also, 12 gig free on SDCard, 122 MB free on phone storage.
     
  14. akstyle450
    Offline

    akstyle450 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    we'll probably have to wait till the OTA for froyo will come and hopefully that will fix it :\ i have like 20+ updates waiting and it annoys me >_<
     
  15. hookbill
    Offline

    hookbill Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +7
    What are you running now?
     
Search tags for this page
2.2 problems downloading apps
,
downloading apps problem motorola android phone
,
im haveing problems downloading games to my phone
,
motorola droid x problems downloading
,
problem downloading apps on a droid
,
problems downloading to droid razr
,
problems with droid razr m not updating apps
,

shockwave on xoom

,
trouble downloading games to droid
,
xoom shockwave