Does anyone else think this is stupid?

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by azules9780, Jun 15, 2010.

  1. azules9780

    azules9780 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I downloaded and just started using chrome for the whole chrome to phone thing I have on my phone with froyo now. Well it says you can use the address bar as a search bar or basically whatever you want to use it for. Does anyone think that it is stupid for me to type in a keyword to search for it only to have BING do the searching? Umm, Google, I use all of your products for a reason and it's not so I can search with Bing!

    Any thoughts, or am I just really tired and missing a setting I need to adjust?
     
  2. gszeman

    gszeman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Novi, MI
    Ratings:
    +0
    Click the wrench in the toolbar.
    Go down to Options.
    Under the basic tab, select Google as the default search provider.

    Or use Firefox like I do and get the "Send to Phone" add-on :)

    I just really can't get used to Chrome...
     
  3. ClaudioKilgannon

    ClaudioKilgannon Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't like Chrome for the fact that it doesn't have the drop down address bar like every other browser. I won't be worrying about Chrome to phone cause it is stupid.
     
  4. Dmoralize

    Dmoralize Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Nazareth, PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can also get to that search setting by right clicking in the address bar and selecting "Edit Search Engines".

    Love Chrome. Still the fastest browser for me.
     
  5. iPirate

    iPirate Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    It fast because it makes a new thread for each website giving more processing time to each page.

    I just started to use chrome as my default browser and I love it, I see no reason to go back to FF
     
  6. littlerick

    littlerick Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i've used chrome to phone several times sending me links to download new roms or kernels and various driving directions. i didnt think i would use it at first now i'm hooked
     
  7. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you get chrome? just download Fake Google Chrome?

    ive tried searcing for ChromeToPhone and cant find anything....
     
  8. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
  9. aldaudio

    aldaudio Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the links. what is that first file on the chrome link?

    edit: nevermind, figured it out.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2010
  10. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    The first file is the extension for the Chrome browser. U install it like Firefox extensions: drag it into the browser and it auto installs.
     
  11. perfoliate

    perfoliate Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Cape Cod
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure if this is related to chrome to phone. But I just noticed this today and I have to say it's pretty awesome and painless.

    Using Internet explorer I can search an address in the google search bar. Click on the maps. Get driving directions from my location. Okay so this is all pretty standard right.

    This is where it gets good. I can pick up my phone (running frf57) five seconds later. click on maps. choose get directions. As soon as I begin to type in the address bar it will pop up with address that I had just searched for seconds before on my pc. that's pretty fast syncing imo :D
     
  12. jroc

    jroc Silver Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,843
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Location:
    Washington DC
    Ratings:
    +63
    Thats a nice find. Froyo is looking better n better every day...