Deactivating my Eris

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by golf3r, Jun 14, 2010.

  1. golf3r

    golf3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hopefully this is in the right forum. I'm selling my Eris, so I deactivated it by re-activating my enV2 on the account, an did a hard reset. Is the Eris still tied to my account? I don't want the new owner activating it back onto my account somehow. Thanks.
     
  2. FootballRef

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know about resetting it. How much are you wanting for it?
     
  3. golf3r

    golf3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    They are going for about 200 on eBay from what it looks like. Do you think I should talk to a Verizon rep?
     
  4. FootballRef

    FootballRef Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Tennessee
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would think you could more info here than you will be able to get from VZW
     
  5. xliderider

    xliderider Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,396
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Where Diamond Head stay
    Ratings:
    +1
    Make sure you go to Menu, Settings, Accounts & Sync, and remove/delete your accounts (Google, etc.). Likewise with your email accounts.
     
  6. golf3r

    golf3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can't get into the phone after i did the hard reset because it needs to be activated first and i somehow can't get around it. the hard reset shpould have taken care of everything, right?
     
  7. golf3r

    golf3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    anyone????
     
  8. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
  9. WDroid

    WDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    BOSTON, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am a Verizon Rep. To answer some of your questions:

    #1:If you activated your Envy3 on your phone line your phone is no longer linked to your Verizon account. You will not be billed the $29.99 Data feature unless you chose the 'Unlimited Data' for your Envy3.

    #2: YOU SHOULD NEVER HARD RESET A DROID!!!! ((AKA BATTERY PULL)))

    #3: The easiest way to disconnect all your info is to "Factory Reset" your phone. Under 'Settings' -> 'Privacy or security' This will restore it to "Out of box" condition.


    Hope this helps. Good luck selling the phone!

    ((Sad to see people leave the Droid world. Droid beats ANY phone))
     
  10. eliassami5

    eliassami5 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bay Area, Cali
    Ratings:
    +0
    what do you mean "hard reset" a droid...the only way to "reset" the phone is by going into the recovery or in the settings. or using RSD if you like doing things the hard way..
     
  11. WDroid

    WDroid New Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    BOSTON, MA
    Ratings:
    +0



    Customers hear Verizon Reps say we are going to "Hard Reset" the phone (((Typical phones and Blackberry's require a battery pull to fix problems sometimes))) So I just wanted to make sure the person asking the question wasn't pulling the battery out while the phone is still powered on. It's not good for the phone.
     
  12. golf3r

    golf3r New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help guys, no i didnt pull the battery out i just held down the 'volume down' and 'send' buttons while the phone was off and did the factory restore. also, thanks for helping me get around that welcome screen i'll check to make sure everything is devoid of my personal information.
     
Search tags for this page

reboot deactivated droid eris