D2 Possibly bricked from liberty rom?

Discussion in 'Droid 2 Global Roms' started by TechPB, Jun 17, 2011.

  1. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    so i just rooted my phone, and was running 2.3.3 gingerbread i bought the liberty tool kit and installed the liberty 2.0.1D2 zip it installed everything and then rebooted and showed the liberty load screen for about 10 minutes so i pulled the battery out and tried restarting it about 5 times and it either freezes at that screen or it goes away and goes to a black screen, ive tried hard resetting it and it goes to the triangle with an exclamation point and then i do the volume up and camera button and nothing works....

    someone please PLEASE help me, i dont care what i have to do i just need my phone working, thank you.
  2. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    The best thing to do is flash back to stock
    The same thing happened to me while installing the same rom...
    Sent from my DROID2
  3. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
  4. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh my bad no its my droid 2 not global but thank you guys so much for the quick reply!
  5. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
  6. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay thank you so much but when i try and boot into recovery once the triangle comes up there is an exclamation point in the center of the triangle and wne i do the volume up and press the camer button no matter how long i hold it it wont do anything.. thats why im concerned it may be bricked..
  7. patmw123
    Offline

    patmw123 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    once you get to the screen with the exclamation point, press the search (magnifying glass) key on the hard keyboard and you should then be in stock recovery. You can try wiping data/cache/factory reset once more to see if that will solve your problem. If not, just boot into bootloader. You are rebooting into stock recovery (by holding x and power on at the same time) and to flash an sbf you need to be booted into the bootloader. You can't to my knowledge boot into bootloader from the stock recovery menu so just do a battery pull and boot straight into bootloader. Do this by pressing up on the dpad of the hard keyboard and holding while powering on the phone. If this does not work, then power off the phone and hold both volume keys (up and down), while holding power on the phone. I hope this isnt too confusing...:)
  8. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im a slightly confused if i hold down pwoer and x now it brings me to Clockwork Recovery v2.5.0.6 with a list of options what should i do from there

    (and i cant thank you enough for taking the time out to help and idiot like me lol)
  9. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    U need to get to the screen that says something about USB flash ready...I think you get their by pressing the volume button up

    Sent from my DROID2
  10. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay ive got into the bootloader and ti says "battery okay" the "OK to Program" then "Transfer mode:" then USB
    is this suposed to connect my phone to the computer so i can put the sbf on my phone ? because if thats the case then its not connecting to my computer..
  11. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Open rsd lite 4.9
    Put the phone in bootloader mode
    Plug it in. It should say s flash. Connected, or something like that.
    Click the box with (...) and find the EXTRACTED full sbf file. Select it.
    Hit start and let it ride!

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8
  12. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    its not detecting my phone for some reason i did it exactly as you wrote it..
  13. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    okay i got the sflash part but it wont let me press start..
  14. ldopa
    Offline

    ldopa New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Strange. You have the full sbf file (extracted)?, drivers and rsd lite 4.9? What system are you on? XP? Win 7? If on win 7, you'll need to run rsd lite as administrator.

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.8
  15. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yes the file is extracted and i wasnt running it as an administrator but ive run into another problem my battery is low and it doesnt seem to charge.. i dont see how to fix this.. :(
  16. destin246
    Offline

    destin246 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go to verizon and ask them to charge it

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  17. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well luckily my dad has a droid 2 aswell so i'll use his battery tomorrow.
  18. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If he does that, they will know he rooted

    Sent from my DROID2
  19. GT_Cleric
    Offline

    GT_Cleric Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    I had someone come into my store with that same issue. We ended up doing a hard reset in his phone and a battery pull after.and then it came back to life. But his phone didn't have gingerbread. Anyways if ur worried about vz knowing ur rooted go to a retailer instead of a corporate store. Its nothing to us if ur rooted.

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums
  20. TechPB
    Offline

    TechPB New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So flashed the sbf (yes the sbf not the zip) and it goes through and when it reboots i still get the Liberty load up screen...