CM 6.0 froze me up

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by JaredElick, Oct 27, 2010.

  1. JaredElick

    JaredElick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    So, I was told by a friend that my Droid issues would be solved if i switched from BuglessBeast to Cyanogen Mod.

    I downlaoded it just fine, it installed, and I started to boot up, but it stayed on the Cyanogen loading screen.

    For an hour.

    I plugged the USB into my laptop, and, like magic, it turned on.

    No home screens, no menu. I can only access apps that are open at startup.

    I can reboot into recovery, but I don't know if i should, and, at the risk of seeming like a normie, I'm not sure what option to select in ClockworkMod.

    I did make a backup of BuglessBeast.
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,829
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +282
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    :welcome: to the forum! Most CM bootloops are caused by either bad ROM flashes or insufficient wiping between builds. Were you running a custom kernel on BB?
     
  3. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    As FBM said, some phones don't like the kernel that comes with CM. Either try flashing a different kernel only, or for the quick fix, obviously just restore your backup.

    good luck
     
  4. JaredElick

    JaredElick New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys.

    I actually called a friend and he walked me through recovering it.

    My question is, though, should I try again? Was it a bad ROM flash? If I tried again, would I just be wasting a ton of time?
     
  5. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,802
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +5
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    Actually, if you want to try it again through rom manager, make sure you select both the backup and wipe data/cache options. It should work a bit better that way. But don't do it today because the market is down, threads all over the world today complaining of market issues.

    good luck
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,829
    Likes Received:
    236
    Trophy Points:
    493
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +282
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Also, CM 6.1 RC-1 should hit within the next few hours. You'll probably want to run that instead. :)