can't get updates becuase i'm rooted and...

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR Hacks' started by 19psi, Jun 26, 2012.

  1. 19psi

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I must have fully deleted something useless but of course we all know everything stock has to be intact to get the OTA.

    How can I fix it? Factory reset?
     
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,609
    Likes Received:
    1,329
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,420
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    No... I think you have to flash back to a stock image..

    DROID RAZR MAXXIMIZED!!!! PREPARE TO BE VANQUISHED!!!
     
  3. 19psi

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Oh boy, how do I do that? Is there a link somewhere?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    I am assuming you are on .181. If so I recommend you download and install the Razr Utility (discussed in above thread), install on your computer and use the utility to return to stock .181...just follow the on screen instructions. You should also use the utility to unroot first. You shouldn't have a problem receiving the OTA update to ICS after that. Make sure you extract the utility .zip to its own folder on your C: drive and run the .bat file.
     
  5. apl3

    apl3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    connecticut
    Ratings:
    +10
    If you are rooted and no custom rom will you get the notification of the update?
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  6. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yes you will get the notification and it will download to your phone but the install will fail most likely. You have two options: Put your phone back to stock (no frozen apps, no delete or otherwise moved apps) and unroot. Once updated you can root again if you chose. Option 2: Download and install Voodoo Root Keeper from Google Play save root and then temporarily unroot to get the update. After the update you can then go back to root using Voodoo Root Keeper. I personally have never had success using Voodoo Root Keeper, I always lost root, but this is probably because I didn't do something right, lol.
     
  7. apl3

    apl3 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    connecticut
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks
    I am using rootkeeper. I just have some frozen apps and root plus safestrap. Now if I could just stop from checking for system updates.
     
  8. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    You shouldn't have a problem...just make sure you unfreeze those apps and temporarily unroot.
     
  9. 19psi

    19psi Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    sorry.. which thread above?

    NVM, i found it. I"ll give it a shot. Thanks!
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2012
  10. Olivia

    Olivia Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could someone please give the link to the freakin thread??? I need to unroot also and all these post nobody helps!!! Everyone is very vague on how to do it!:icon_evil:
     
  11. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Ok, lets start with what phone do you really have. Your profile says iphone 3gs. If your phone is a Razr/Razr Maxx what version OS are you running. To check that go to menu>settings>about phone and look for software version. After we have established those two bits of information we can help you.
     
  12. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    FYI, got her fixed up in another thread that she started about the issue. Phone is in working order now.
     
  13. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Yeah thanks...I just now saw that. Good work my friend.
     
  14. Sydman

    Sydman Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,571
    Likes Received:
    311
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Austin, Tx
    Ratings:
    +325
    Thank you sir, I always enjoy helping when I can. Happy Monday to ya!!
     
  15. jpcalhoun

    jpcalhoun Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +61
    Helping others is a good thing:smile: Happy Monday to you too...have a good week.
     
Search tags for this page

android rooted phone can't update

,

can't update if rooted

,

can't update rooted android

,

cant install update on rooted droid dna

,

cant update my rooted phone

,

cant update rooted droid razr

,

how to fix rooted android cant update

,

i can't update my phone because i'm rooted