Can't boot into recovery

Discussion in 'Droid X Hacks' started by s_cuttic, Jun 5, 2011.

  1. s_cuttic

    s_cuttic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I downloaded the two part update to get gb .596. I booted into recovery and tried to install part 1 but it wouldn't work. I later found out i'm not on froyo because my baseband version ends in .07. I was able to reboot the phone no problem but now no matter what I do, I can't reboot into recovery. It just boots normal. I'm still rooted and everything works fine on the phone except for bootstrap. I did uninstall it, un-root, reboot, re-root and download and install bootstrap but still nothing. Not even after rebooting again. I tried holding the home and power buttons when I turn the phone on, but it basically comes up with what I guess is an error message/symbol. It's the little android with a white triangle and an exclamation point inside it. Only thing I can do is pull the battery and it boots fine.

    What can I do to get bootstrap to work again? Do I need to buy the droid 2 version or something else? I'm running darkslide. I did not download or install the ota update. I like being rooted. Any help is appreciated!

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums

    ----------------------------------------------------------------EDIT------------------------------------------------------------------------

    ok... I am able to get into a boot recovery but it's not clock work mod's. It's android's. When I wipe cache, it says "E:Can't open /cache/recovery/command. It doesn't give me the error message when I wipe data/facory reset. Bootstrap still doesn't load into clockwork mod, it just reboots the phone. Any ideas??
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2011
  2. cjriddle22

    cjriddle22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    the Ville
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the thread for the 2 part GB update it says you must use D2 Bootstrapper. I'm pretty sure before I updated my baseband ended in .07, I SBF'd to 2.3.340 (Froyo), then installed the 2 part GB update and my baseband is now .12. I'm thinking you need the D2 Bootstrapper now that you tried to install GB, it might have changed something even tho the install failed. You can get D2 bootstrapper for free from Koush's website or Google. That error you are talking about is the stock recovery, when you see that android with the exclamation point (after holding home + power), press the search button, this will take you into stock recovery where you can factory reset data/cache, etc. If you like being rooted you can install the two part pre-rooted .596 GB from team black hat over at mydroidworld.com, but you have to be completely stock and have all the bloatware installed for it install without failing (hence the SBF I did). You mentioned you were on Darkslide, this is probably why the install failed for you.
     
  3. s_cuttic

    s_cuttic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    I tried using droid 2 bootstrap but I had the same problem with it booting up and skipping recovery. I'll have to see what I can find for sbf's for stock. Any other ideas?
     
  4. cjriddle22

    cjriddle22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    the Ville
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sounds like you will need to SBF back to Stock Froyo if you are wanting the GB update. If not, and your current setup is all you need/want, then just keep on keeping on.
     
  5. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
  6. ecfiffer

    ecfiffer Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you tried unchecking USB debugging? That's what I saw mousy retweeted a long while ago. Bootstrap recover works each time
     
  7. ArmyDude

    ArmyDude Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    374
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1

    +1. Disable USB debugging. Droid X Bootstrapper works fine with that disabled.
     
  8. s_cuttic

    s_cuttic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'll try to sbf back to froyo tomorrow. I tried several times with usb enabled and disabled but still can't get into recovery. I even downloaded rom manager and tried doing it from that but no luck. If I can't get anywhere by tomorrow night I may just install the ota update and try to reroot sometime down the line. Give the experts time to hack GB.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  9. s_cuttic

    s_cuttic Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I still can't boot into recovery and I can't install the OTA update. I'm going to try to sbf back to froyo but if I can't even do that, I'm stuck on darkslide. Not that I mind, but I can't change rom's or do any kind of an update because the only recovery mode I can get into is the android recovery mode. I didn't try to install the update before I recover all my apps and whatnot thru my google account after wiping cache and data yet but that's something I'm going to have to try. I just want to bang my head off a wall because I'm basically stuck right now between a rock and a hard place. Yes my phone works but I can't change anything.
     
  10. ldopa

    ldopa Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Messages:
    4,742
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    Rochester NY
    Ratings:
    +2
    If it bothers you then sbf. As long as you can get into the bootloader, you'll be fine

    Droid 2 Liberty GB v0.7
     
  11. Floor it

    Floor it New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used Wug's root toolkit, to get rooted. But now if I try to reboot into recovery i get the screen with the droid and the warning sign for a minute then the phone reboots.

    I've done some reading and it seems the stock recovery has reflashed, and the you have to go into: Root Explorer go to System, mount as R/W(button up towards the top of the app), find recovery-from-boot.p (change to 1recovery-from-boot.p or delete)

    I have root explorer installed but I can't find recovery-from-boot.p in the system folder.

    Anyone have any help?
     
  12. Floor it

    Floor it New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK did some digging around and deleted the recovery-from-boot.p. I can't figure out how to " Flash CWM (fastboot flash recovery recovery-clockwork-5.5.0.4-toro.img)"

    I have clockwork 5.5.0.4-toro on my Nexus but when I'm in fastboot mode I don't see an option to flash recovery
     
  13. syndicate0017

    syndicate0017 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2,007
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +48
    Just use the command prompt and make sure the clockwork img is in your fastboot folder. Navigate to your fastboot folder and then type fastboot flash recovery "name of your file".img

    Hope that helps you.
     
  14. JSM9872

    JSM9872 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12,923
    Likes Received:
    287
    Trophy Points:
    498
    Location:
    Pennsylvania...
    Ratings:
    +287
    Current Phone Model:
    Galaxy Note 3
    Worst case scenario you can use rom manager to flash it. The free one works to accomplish this if you don't have the premium one. But it never hurts to do it the old fashioned way (the way I prefer) or at least know how to do it.

    Sent From the Land Before Time...
     
  15. Floor it

    Floor it New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't see directions for this anywhere. How to you get the clockwork img in the fastboot folder?
     
Search tags for this page
android boot recovery exclamation mark
,
can't boot into recovery exclamation mark
,
cant boot droid x into recovery
,

cant put droid x into recovery

,
cant reboot in recovery dna exclamation
,
cant reboot to recovery droid x
,
droix x 2.3.4 how to get into recovery
,
exlamation point comes up when i try to boot my droid in rec
,
razr m cannot boot into recovery mode just get robot exclamation