Can NOT install Apps from anywhere??

Discussion in 'Android General Discussions' started by LT*, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This is an issue that started as a different problem all together. I thought I had it solved with some help From CK and Tallica, but it's come back again and again. It started in this thread http://www.droidforums.net/forum/rescue-squad-help/98997-constant-sync-icon-draining-battery.html

    I figured that I should start a new thread since the title of that one doesn't describe the issue any longer.

    So after everything in that thread, I still can not install apps from anywhere, including TiBu. I've done everything from clearing cache and data from the Market to un-rooting and RSDing back again twice. I cannot figure this out for the life of me. An app will download, and just hang forever at installing until I FC the Market or TiBu. It almost seems like I have a corrupted installer. It did work properly after I re-rooted to stock 22D (thanks Motochache1) for about 15 minutes, and then it crapped out again. I was able to install from the Market and from TiBu before it stopped again.

    Possibly related, when the issue starts, I can no longer access apps on my SD card. I also can't mount the card to the computer, nor unmount it from within the phone. I have reformatted the card already, and it can be read with no problems from recovery. I can also access all pics on there from the phone, so I'm fairly certain that the card itself is fine.

    I'm not sure if it's a permissions issue, or and installer issue, or a hardware issue (although it should never have worked at all if this is the case). If I can't figure it out, I am going to call VzW and have it replaced since I have time left on the manufacturers warranty. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated by my family as they have been missing me since Friday :icon_eek:

    Thanks
  2. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    I'm sure you have but, when an app hangs have you tried longpressing on it in the market, select cancel download and try again?

    If you still can't get it to work I would call Verizon for sure.
  3. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the reply Tallica.

    I can't cancel any install without force closing the Market manually. Same with Titanium. I'm hesitant to call Verizon since I don't really want to lose my D1 for another phone. There's also the dreaded refurb hell that can follow if they do have D1s in stock. If I can't figure it out in the next few hours, I think I'll have to call though. Luckily I can still make phone calls and text etc, and I did get root explorer, set cpu and a few other "essentials" installed before it crapped out the last time.

    Thanks again.
  4. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    So when you long press on an app that's hanging from the downloads screen in the market do you get a popup with cancel download as an option?

    In my experience canceling the download this way does not FC the market.
  5. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Right, long press on the app in the download screen brings up a pop up with "details" as my only option. That brings me to the app page with a blank Install bar and a greyed out installing button at the bottom. I have to FC the Market from Settings>Apps> Manage apps>market. Odd thing about that, the main list of apps will show the size of the app, but when clicked, the values for the size of Data, cache, and all that will hang at computing and never read values. When I hit FC there, the hung up install stops. So frustrating.
  6. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    Sorry man,

    Looks like a call to Verizon is in your future.

    Good luck!
  7. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    SIGH...I think you're right, thanks for your help.
  8. z96Cobra
    Offline

    z96Cobra Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I'd try a different micro SD card just to see if that is causing the issue.

    Roger
  9. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually reformatted mine, and can see pics and music from the phone, and am able to mount it to the computer via recovery to transfer files. I can't mount it when not in recovery, and I can't unmount it for removal from the settings menu. I really don't think it's the card, but I have a replacement due tomorrow afternoon, so once I put my card in the new one, if I have similar issues, I will know.

    Thanks
  10. cereal killer
    Offline

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    772
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    LT* let us know if it is the SD card. That's what I posted in your previous thread and that's what I am leaning towards as the problem. Good luck and let me know! Thanks

    Sent from my Droid
  11. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'll let you know how it all turns out once the new one comes in tomorrow. Thanks CK
  12. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So the new phone is here, and I got it up and running, and what do you know, I can't install apps again. Looks like CK was right about the SD card. I threw an old 1gig I didn't realized I had in there and suddenly it will install apps from the market. Doh! I'm puzzled since I did format the card already. Does this just mean that the card is shot and I need a new one? Is there something on the card that is causing this?

    I'm hoping that I can just transfer everything to the new card and be all set, but if there's something on there causing this, then that won't help.

    Also, on the return, the replacement phone has a build date of almost a year after my old one. so far, everything seems in perfect order with it. I will probably just keep the new one though unless something goes wrong in the next few days.
  13. LT*
    Offline

    LT* New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just to update this thread in case anyone else runs into this problem, I figured out what the problem was. While reading through another thread, I found out that apps on the SD card are stored in the android.secure folder. Looking in there, I noticed duplicates of most of my apps designated with a 1 and a 2. I went through and deleted the duplicates, and all my problems stopped. I can now install, uninstall, and restore backups. One thing though is that when I restore a backup from Titanium, it puts a duplicate on the card. I have to go through and delete them, but if it keeps working, then I'm a happy guy.
  14. doublefeet
    Offline

    doublefeet New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for posting your resolution. I had this exact same problem on my EVO (shh, I'm not supposed to be on these forums maybe) and this fixed it!
Search tags for this page
-24 error code installing android app
,

android error 110

,
android install error 110
,
cant install any apps code error 110
,
install error code 110 download