Can I load Sapphire 1.0 from ROM Manager?

Discussion in 'cvpcs' started by sranger, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. sranger
    Offline

    sranger New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am fairly new to the rooted Droid. I apologize if this has been answered somewhere else...( I promise I did look... )

    I have FGR22 loaded on my system. I have the latest ROM Manager installed. It seems to be able to download Sapphire 1.0 and the associated google apps, kernels, etc. I read where it is preferred to do a factory reset before you load Sapphire. If I use ROM manager to download and install Sapphire, will I get the option to do a factory rest in the clockwork recovery?

    Or can I load through ROM Manager and then do a factory reset?

    Thanks...
  2. Tallica
    Offline

    Tallica Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    3,259
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Middleboro, MA
    U can use Rom Manager if you want problems. There is about 20 active threads right now, all describing loss of custom recovery and/or bootloops after using RM.
    But, if u must....

    BTW, I suggest doing it manually from clockwork or flashing SPRecovery and doing from there.
  3. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes you will get the option to factory reset and the option to back your existing ROM in ROM manager after download and before install. I did it last night and worked just dandy. I installed using the default theme which I think is suggested and then go back later and install another theme if you want. I picked the 1000lv (125) kernel during install.

    I used WIFI connection instead of 3G

    In ROM manager after the Sapphire download (make sure you select gapps also) select a kernel, then select option to factory reset and the option to backup your existing ROM. After that it will boot into clockworkmod recovery and backup your existing ROM then factory reset then install Sapphire :)

    You can choose the option to just backup your existing ROM in ROM manager main menu before doing the above if you want then when it reboots do Sapphire install via ROM manager.

    Check the screen at all times to see what it's doing :)
  4. The Physician
    Offline

    The Physician New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I installed via Rom Manager and have had absolutely 0 problems. I recommend using it over other options.
  5. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    There have been issues with the newer versions of Clockwork Recovery. I have been using 2.0.1.3 without any issues. You can find it under "All ClockworkMod Recoveries" at the very bottom of the RM home screen.

    You should always d/l roms through wifi instead of 3g. If you have any data that is sent or received, drop 3g coverage (even for a second), or if someone calls you while you are attempting a d/l, you risk having it corrupted. The 3g signal just isn't consistent enough, by using wifi, you avoid any of those problems.
  6. pdroid
    Offline

    pdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
    The most recent "stable" clockwork (2.5.0.1) hasn't given me any problems, and Sapphire 1.0 installed flawlessly using it. Clockwork hasn't been updated in a while.

    As long as you back up, if you run into problems with RM you can do it over and manually install in recovery.
  7. msheldon
    Offline

    msheldon New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Gilbert, AZ
    I also installed via Rom Manager with the latest Clockwork Recovery. Zero problems.
  8. kevdog
    Offline

    kevdog New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    722
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well Im in the camp that RM wouldn't install it for me. In fact I couldn't even boot into recovery after RM prompted me after the download to boot into recovery to complete the installation. Frankly I'm really sick of RM. SPRecovery might be old, not that sexy, but frankly it just works for me. (That of course and the download links which are a godsend.). Speaking of SPRecovery, what ever happened to Sir Psychos anyway?
  9. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read on droidmod.org Sir Psychos was back working on a new version of SPrecovery.