1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Bionic not communicating with pc, can't root or use rsd lite

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by rocketsaucev2, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Edit: Solved!:
    A factory reset has allowed my Bionic to be rooted on ICS 232. Hope this helps anyone who comes across this issue.


    Ok, so I kind of derailed another thread trying to get this figured out. I've tried a bunch of stuff, so here goes the list of events; I will attempt to provide all relevant info:
    • Received refurbished bionic from verizon, running .902 in mid july
    • updated to .905, left phone completely stock in the wake of the ics leak buzz
    • finally installed ICS .232 on aug 17, fell in love
    • attempted to root, to no avail.
      • I have most recent drivers installed, 5.9.
      • Using factory cable with moto logo on it, same cable I've always used
      • Enabled usb debugging, checked allow unknown sources, put phone in mtp mode when plugged in
      • Restarted machine before running razrs edge, which is extracted on my desktop
      • razrs edge runs, says waiting for device, then daemon not running starting now, then daemon started successfully. Then it just sits there
    • I had read that going back to gb and reinstalling ICS may help, so in that process I discovered that RSD lite doesn't even recognize my phone when I put in fastboot mode. I had previously done all this with a different Bionic, using the same computer and same cable and everything. I'm not sure if the phone is having issues or my computer, but clearly the two are not communicating properly
    • Windows recognized the phone in all three usb modes in ICS
    Well, I guess thats my situation, not sure if anyone knows anything.
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  2. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    PS, I will be at work until this evening so I may not reply till later

    Thanks in advance for taking the time to check this out
  3. qwas789
    Offline

    qwas789 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1st and easyist try a different cable. That worked for me, don't know why.
  4. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    Next, try a different USB port, preferably one connected directly to the motherboard. Don't go through a USB hub or extension cable of any type.
  5. electricman58
    Offline

    electricman58 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    This is just a guess? I'm rooted on GB, but haven't installed any leaks! FXZ to .905, root using Motofail, install Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper, and then flash .232??? :icon_eek:
  6. linuxgator
    Offline

    linuxgator New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    He can't FXZ to .905. RSDLite isn't connecting to his phone at all.
  7. deduct
    Offline

    deduct New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try a different computer.
  8. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I only have one cable :icon_eek:

    I'm on a laptop with 4 and tried all of them, to no avail
    Tried my wife's computer, and ended up in the same spot, daemon started successfully


    Can I purchase a moto cable by itself? I know charging cables are sold, but is it the same as the factory cables? I guess thats the only thing I haven't tried seeing as I only have one cable
  9. deduct
    Offline

    deduct New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
  10. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Omg 15 cents you must be insane I'm not made of money.

    OK, surprisingly I'm not totally in a bad mood after all this dumb stuff
  11. deduct
    Offline

    deduct New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haha....yeah I would buy several if I were going to buy online at that price. That would make a great stocking stuffer. For those friends and family members with Motorola phones.
  12. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Hmm well I guess I'll give it a shot

    Any ideas on why though? I had rooted an older bionic with no issues, same cord and computer
  13. Mike.757
    Offline

    Mike.757 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,585
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    I flashed 235 on my laptop. Tried to flash 238 on the same computer but rsd lite would not find the phone. I moved to a different computer and everything went well.
  14. master0fursinz
    Offline

    master0fursinz New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    nyc
    this wouldnt be the same cable needed to recharge a dead razr would it????? by dead i mean i cant boot it up and it needs some desperate juice to finish an update
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2012
  15. Crazebeats
    Offline

    Crazebeats New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Silly question but did you install motohelper? It will always keep newest drivers

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
  16. liftedplane
    Offline

    liftedplane Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,116
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Washington State
    I had a similar issue and it was the version of the drivers from moto i had. Check those as that finally fixed it.

    Sent from my frozenly delicious bionic.
  17. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    unfortunately, I have already downloaded a few different links to drivers, one of them being moto helper
  18. sweeeeet
    Offline

    sweeeeet Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    8,197
    Likes Received:
    58
    Trophy Points:
    48
    my fix was a different version of rsd

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk
  19. rocketsaucev2
    Offline

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Well hopefully its the cord, I got one ordered should be here next week...
  20. Icculus760
    Offline

    Icculus760 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I was having issues with RSD not "finishing" the flash process & ultimately getting an "error 7" failure in Safestrap 2.11 whenever I tried to install a ROM. Phone didn't always "connect" to the PC when I plugged it in and some other communication issues b/t the phone and PC were happening.

    After trying all sorts of fixes (drivers, adb commands, different USB ports, you name it I probably tried it) turns out my issue (and I hope yours which is why I'm writing this) was caused by me not using the "official" Bionic USB cable - I was unknowingly using a generic one.

    Here's hoping your issues are caused by the same problem I figured out and, once you get the right cable, you'll be back to flashing without any errors in no time!!
Search tags for this page
droid bionic rsp lite
,
flash bionic rsd lite
,
how to flash my bionic with no computer
,
rsd lite cannot find bionic
,

rsd lite doesn't recognize bionic

,

rsd lite doesn't recognize droid bionic

,
rsd lite droid bionic connection failed
,
rsd lite phone connection fails droid bionic
,
rsdlite windows 8
,
windows8 rdslite