Bionic not communicating with pc, can't root or use rsd lite

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by rocketsaucev2, Aug 29, 2012.

  1. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Edit: Solved!:
    A factory reset has allowed my Bionic to be rooted on ICS 232. Hope this helps anyone who comes across this issue.


    Ok, so I kind of derailed another thread trying to get this figured out. I've tried a bunch of stuff, so here goes the list of events; I will attempt to provide all relevant info:
    • Received refurbished bionic from verizon, running .902 in mid july
    • updated to .905, left phone completely stock in the wake of the ics leak buzz
    • finally installed ICS .232 on aug 17, fell in love
    • attempted to root, to no avail.
      • I have most recent drivers installed, 5.9.
      • Using factory cable with moto logo on it, same cable I've always used
      • Enabled usb debugging, checked allow unknown sources, put phone in mtp mode when plugged in
      • Restarted machine before running razrs edge, which is extracted on my desktop
      • razrs edge runs, says waiting for device, then daemon not running starting now, then daemon started successfully. Then it just sits there
    • I had read that going back to gb and reinstalling ICS may help, so in that process I discovered that RSD lite doesn't even recognize my phone when I put in fastboot mode. I had previously done all this with a different Bionic, using the same computer and same cable and everything. I'm not sure if the phone is having issues or my computer, but clearly the two are not communicating properly
    • Windows recognized the phone in all three usb modes in ICS
    Well, I guess thats my situation, not sure if anyone knows anything.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  2. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    PS, I will be at work until this evening so I may not reply till later

    Thanks in advance for taking the time to check this out
     
  3. qwas789

    qwas789 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    1st and easyist try a different cable. That worked for me, don't know why.
     
  4. linuxgator

    linuxgator Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    Next, try a different USB port, preferably one connected directly to the motherboard. Don't go through a USB hub or extension cable of any type.
     
  5. electricman58

    electricman58 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    San Diego, CA.
    Ratings:
    +61
    This is just a guess? I'm rooted on GB, but haven't installed any leaks! FXZ to .905, root using Motofail, install Voodoo OTA Rootkeeper, and then flash .232??? :icon_eek:
     
  6. linuxgator

    linuxgator Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2011
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Florida
    Ratings:
    +0
    He can't FXZ to .905. RSDLite isn't connecting to his phone at all.
     
  7. deduct

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
    Try a different computer.
     
  8. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I only have one cable :icon_eek:

    I'm on a laptop with 4 and tried all of them, to no avail
    Tried my wife's computer, and ended up in the same spot, daemon started successfully


    Can I purchase a moto cable by itself? I know charging cables are sold, but is it the same as the factory cables? I guess thats the only thing I haven't tried seeing as I only have one cable
     
  9. deduct

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
  10. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Omg 15 cents you must be insane I'm not made of money.

    OK, surprisingly I'm not totally in a bad mood after all this dumb stuff
     
  11. deduct

    deduct Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +28
    Haha....yeah I would buy several if I were going to buy online at that price. That would make a great stocking stuffer. For those friends and family members with Motorola phones.
     
  12. rocketsaucev2

    rocketsaucev2 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hmm well I guess I'll give it a shot

    Any ideas on why though? I had rooted an older bionic with no issues, same cord and computer
     
  13. Mike.757

    Mike.757 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2,662
    Likes Received:
    109
    Trophy Points:
    128
    Location:
    Virginia Beach
    Ratings:
    +114
    I flashed 235 on my laptop. Tried to flash 238 on the same computer but rsd lite would not find the phone. I moved to a different computer and everything went well.
     
  14. master0fursinz

    master0fursinz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    nyc
    Ratings:
    +0
    this wouldnt be the same cable needed to recharge a dead razr would it????? by dead i mean i cant boot it up and it needs some desperate juice to finish an update
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2012
  15. Crazebeats

    Crazebeats Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Silly question but did you install motohelper? It will always keep newest drivers

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using Tapatalk 2
     
Search tags for this page
droid bionic rsp lite
,
flash bionic rsd lite
,
how to flash my bionic with no computer
,
rsd lite cannot find bionic
,

rsd lite doesn't recognize bionic

,

rsd lite doesn't recognize droid bionic

,
rsd lite droid bionic connection failed
,
rsd lite phone connection fails droid bionic
,
rsdlite windows 8
,
windows8 rdslite