Better app than Handcent?

Synthet1k

Reaction score
Well, I downloaded Handcent SMS for my Droid and thought it was awesome up until I noticed that my service was fluctuating.... I would have the phone on a table, still as can be, yet the signal bars would go from 4 bars to none, then to two...and so on. This would happen randomly. When it would happen, I was unable to receive or make calls and texts. This was VERY frustrating, and never happened until Handcent was installed. Last night I was on the phone with Verizon tech support for about 2 hours, and we eventually had to do a hard reset on the phone because nothing else would work. So far, the problem has been resolved. I'm just wondering if anyone knows of a good app that is free and similar to Hancent. Thanks for the help! :)

P.S. I'm very new to these Droid phones, so please try to bear with me!

OP
Synthet1k

Synthet1k

Reaction score
I heard Chomp charges you for "credits" in order to text... o_O Is this true?
With Verizon, I have unlimited text messaging, so why would I wanna pay?

Abe21599

Super Moderator
Rescue Squad
Reaction score
Well, I downloaded Handcent SMS for my Droid and thought it was awesome up until I noticed that my service was fluctuating.... I would have the phone on a table, still as can be, yet the signal bars would go from 4 bars to none, then to two...and so on. This would happen randomly. When it would happen, I was unable to receive or make calls and texts. This was VERY frustrating, and never happened until Handcent was installed. Last night I was on the phone with Verizon tech support for about 2 hours, and we eventually had to do a hard reset on the phone because nothing else would work. So far, the problem has been resolved. I'm just wondering if anyone knows of a good app that is free and similar to Hancent. Thanks for the help! :)

P.S. I'm very new to these Droid phones, so please try to bear with me!

handcent will not affect your phones reception.