Best way to perform Factory Default Reset (and restore data) after ICS

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Tech Support' started by jetguat, Oct 29, 2012.

  1. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Over the past year I've downloaded hundreds of apps. Many were deleted. I still have some around.
    I want to perform a FDR on the Bionic, now that I got ICS.

    Specifically I got some apps with data, and some games with data.
    How can I be sure that I'm saving the stuff I want, and not saving leftover junk from old apps.?

    Ive read some posts on MyBackup others on TitaniumBackupPro. Glancing at them, they initially appear
    complex.

    What's the suggestion from you experts? How do I save for instance "data" associated with Glu games
    and all the in-app purchases made. I want to restore all that stuff after the FDR.

    Thanks for the suggestions.
  2. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
  3. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  4. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
  5. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Why root? At least your opinion. Also doesn't that void something with Verizon? surely they can tell rooted devices on their
    networks. thats not a concern? I know many people root to remove bloatware. is that the primary reason? what else?
  6. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    I'm NOT rooted and I didn't see anything about needing to root for that link I posted.

    That being said, when I boot into recovery it says I'm rooted, go figure. Go ahead, boot into recovery like you're going to clear the cache. You'll see a little "qe" followed by 0/0, 0/1 or 1/1. If it says 0/0 you're not rooted, 0/1 you were once rooted and 1/1 currently rooted. Verizon will notice mainly if you take it in for a problem.

    There are apps that will only run if rooted. You can also change the speed of the CPU and install ROMs.
  7. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Do you have experience in how root keepers work? Example.

    - say I root my phone
    - i remain on stock rom, leave the bloatware, so I'm still able to get OTA
    - OTA comes. I install, and as a result as I understand it.. I will lose root

    somehow the root keeper should allow me to restore root after the OTA. How? I would guess rootkeeper needs to be root
    right? how does it restore once the OTA removed root? Thoughts?
  8. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Someone said when this root checker was discovered that if you did a full fxz the root checker would be set back to 0.
  9. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gotta ask. fxz what does that stand for?
  10. sst45jeff
    Offline

    sst45jeff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I don't know exactly what the initials stand for but it is a zipped XML file that is like an image & flashes the phone back to exactly as it would come out of the box from the manufacture. (partitions & all)
    So like a restore file of the whole phone settings & files.
  11. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    FXZ=Full XML Zip (file), like what sst45jeff alluded to.

    Unlike a Factory Reset, the FXZ can be used to change your version.
  12. jayman350
    Offline

    jayman350 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    845
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lowell, Ma
    you cannot take your game save data with you unless you are rooted and use some backup program, that was the reason i rooted in the first place way back in the days of the OG DROID. I use Titanium Backup Pro, and have used it to transfer apps & data between at least 5 different phones (4 of the D1, 1 Bionic) and 4 different OS versions (froyo, GB, ICS, JB). As long as you don't try to restore system data everything should be ok. It really isn't that complicated, although TiBu has a lot more capability than i use it for.

    my suggestion would be to make a full backup of your internal and external SD cards. That way, after the FDR and the restore, if there is anything missing its still on your pc.

    rooting will void your warranty, so its up to you to decide if its worth it for you.
  13. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    MyBackup will backup data on unrooted phones. How well it preserves and restores game data, I can't be certain, but it does well with most.
  14. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My phone is over a year old now, probably out of warranty anyway.
  15. bionic207
    Offline

    bionic207 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Weird looked at the reboot and it says 1/1 for me. I have never rooted my phone and bought it new from VZW. What kinds of things can I do to check to see if I am truly rooted?
  16. aaf709
    Online

    aaf709 Nice Guy Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    4,189
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    So Cal
    Same with me. You can get the Root Checker app from the Play Store.
  17. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    same with me. I'm about to download a root checker [joeykrim] and see what it says. Which root checker did you use.. what did it report?
  18. TisMyDroid
    Offline

    TisMyDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    4,453
    Likes Received:
    353
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Central New York
    That is pretty odd because it says you were rooted. That's not right if you never were. Did you ever have to get a replacement which would mean it's a refurbished phone? If so, whoever owned the phone before it was refurbished has rooted it. I suppose Verizon could not hold you accountable for a previously rooted phone if it is refurbished...because they could not be certain when it was.
  19. bionic207
    Offline

    bionic207 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got it brand new. Did get a route checker and it says I am not rooted so.......
  20. jetguat
    Offline

    jetguat New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2011
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The root checker for me says not rooted also. But if you boot into recovery what does yours say? Mine says 1/1 even though it was brand new on day #1 of availability
Search tags for this page
after factory reset android restore apps
,

droid bionic factory reset

,

droid bionic hard reset

,
factory data reset bionic
,
factory data reset bionic ics
,

factory reset bionic ics

,

factory reset droid bionic

,
how to factory reset android ics
,

how to factory reset droid bionic

,

how to hard reset droid bionic

,
how to reset ics on boot
,
reset android ics
,

reset android ics to factory settings

,

restore data after factory reset android

,
what will i lose if i reset my droid bionic