battery temp

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Pro' started by rocket_girl, May 3, 2011.

  1. rocket_girl

    rocket_girl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the normal battery temp...or what range are you all getting? Mine ran 75-ish before update, now usually running around 100 (currently 102).

    What are others getting...and what do you do to cool it down?

    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
     
  2. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Stop checking it? :icon_wink:

    I know my D1 gets up to about 104 during the day, even in my pocket. Have you checked your processes?

    The wife hasn't noticed any increase in temps but she only works on feel, not so technical.
     
  3. hotkoko

    hotkoko Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    ny
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do u check the temp of the battery?

    Sent from my DROID PRO
     
  4. DROOIID

    DROOIID Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +0
    Couple of apps from the market allow you to. I use my WiFi tethering app.

    Sent from my OG Droid, fresh MIUI
     
  5. google123

    google123 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use SetCPU to check battery temp info.....currently sitting at 84.2 degrees Fahrenheit.

    I noticed the other day there is a Cool Down Mode.....it warns me that cool down mode is active and only emergency calls can be made when I activate it.
     
  6. rocket_girl

    rocket_girl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I use an app called Battery Monitor Jfrom market). And yes, guidot...it does have an option to 'stop monitoring' ;-) Great point...What you don't know can't drive you crazy!!!



    Sent from my DROID PRO using DroidForums
     
  7. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +753
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    I check every now and then with SetCPU as well. Sitting at 84.2 degrees Fahrenheit right now, which is typical when it's fairly idle. It hasn't been unusual for me to see it around 100 with moderate to heavy use, especially if it's been in my pocket.
     
  8. kjjb0204

    kjjb0204 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Consistently between 75-88F
     
  9. Raegan

    Raegan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    how do you set CPU to check battery temp?

    Also, does anyone have their droid pro shutting off and on by itself frequesntly? mine's been doing it since this morning, arrgh
     
  10. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +753
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Open up SetCPU, tap Info, and the temperature information should be in the section under "Battery."

    No random reboots for me. It's a problem that a lot of people had before the last update though. The update seems to have fixed it for some. Others have still had some issues with it.
     
  11. Raegan

    Raegan New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you so much but how

    do I open up SetCPU? and where can I find the update so it stops rebooting, hopefully! Thanks again! :)
     
  12. bsweetness

    bsweetness Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,124
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +753
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Yeah, just open SetCPU to find it.

    The update should have been automatically pushed to your phone. You can check by going to Settings->About Phone->System Updates. You should be able to install the latest update from there. It's strange that you haven't gotten it yet. It's System version 3.8.7.XT610.Verizon.en.US (which you can find under About Phone in Settings as well). If you have that system version, then you have the update.

    Just make sure that you unroot and unfreeze any factory-installed programs before installing the update. Installing the update while rooted, or with having any factory programs frozen/removed, will cause any number of problems for your phone. If you did happen to receive the update and it was installed while you were rooted, then that is probably why you're having problems. Many people who installed the update while rooted experienced a wide range of issues.